Georgia allows some offenders to get a restricted license following a DUI offense. The offender must meet all criteria, and install an ignition interlock device (IID) from an approved provider. This guide will cover how the interlock process works in Georgia.
What Happens if I Get a DUI in Georgia?
First DUI Offense
- License reinstatement fee of $210
- Fine of $300-$1,000
- One year of jail time possible
- May be required to attend DUI school
- 40 hours of community service, minimum
- License suspended for up to 12 months
- Ignition interlock may be required to regain license
Second DUI Offense (Within 5 Years of First Offense)
- 48 hours mandatory jail time, with the possibility of serving 90 days to one year
- Fine of $600-$1,000
- Community service required for 30 days minimum
- $210 license reinstatement fee
- License suspended for three years
- Must be evaluated at a clinic and may be required to complete a treatment program
- Interlock may be required to regain license
Third DUI Offense (Within 5 Years of Second Offense)
- 15 days jail time minimum
- Minimum 30 days of community service
- Driver’s license revoked for five years
- $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
- Offender’s name, picture, and address is published in the local newspaper (offender must pay for placement)
- Offender is categorized as a habitual violator and the license plate for their car is seized and sent to the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety
- Offender must undergo a clinical evaluation and may be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program
- Interlock may be required to regain license
How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Georgia?
In Georgia, offenders may be able to get a restricted driver’s license, also known as a limited driving permit. The limitations allow offenders to drive to and from school, work, doctor’s visits, community service, and the grocery store. To get the permit, offenders must meet a variety of criteria. This criteria includes:
- Serve the suspension period mandated by the court (up to two years for repeat offenders)
- Pay any necessary fines
- Attend DUI school, complete a clinical evaluation and any other mandated treatment programs, and provide a certificate of proof
- Install an IID from an approved provider like Intoxalock
- Submit the license fee and any other applicable fees to the appropriate parties
- Show proof of SR-22 insurance
There may be additional requirements before a license is granted, depending on the circumstances of the offense.
Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
The Process: What to Expect
1. Consult with Legal Counsel
2. Get an Assessment
3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance
4. Schedule interlock install
5. Regular monitoring
6. Device removal
Interlock Cost in Georgia
Find an Install Location Near You
Expert DUI Attorneys in Georgia
Howard & ARCA Law Firm
Douglasville, GA 30134
Law Office of Adam D. Brown
Peachtree Corners, GA 30092
Richman Law Firm
Cumming, GA 30028
Shenberg Law Group, LLC
Atlanta, GA 30329
An ignition interlock device is a gadget that combines technology and responsibility by enforcing sobriety before allowing the ignition to be turned on.
Customers may be required to install an ignition interlock device following a drunk driving conviction. The device must be from an approved provider from Intoxalock.
The costs of the device can vary depending on the type of vehicle you have, your chosen interlock provider, and the type of device you install. Customers in Georgia pay a deposit of $54.99 to $100 plus a setup fee of $29.99. The monthly lease costs $49.99 to $69.99.
When you are ready to install, you will make an appointment at the Intoxalock service center of your choosing. At your appointment, technicians will install your device and walk you through how to use it for BrAC testing.
GA drivers license
Provide name of registered owner if they are not
You will need your Georgia driver’s license. If you don’t own the vehicle you are installing the device in, you’ll need to provide the name of the registered vehicle owner.
Our state specialists can help you make an appointment. Intoxalock has more than 50 locations throughout Georgia. You will need to return to the location for regular device calibration, so keep this in mind when choosing your location
Your state monitoring authority will provide the removal date - you will need to contact them. Once you have approval you can make your removal appointment.
You will need to bring your Comprehensive Moni.oring Report with you (that you have also brought to each calibration). The service center will need to sign and stamp the report at your last calibration, and then the GA DDS will authorize removal.
You will need to get the eligibility certificate from your monitoring authority to have the device removed.
Fines and DUI school are penalties DUI offenders may face in Georgia.
No, Georgia does not provide financial assistance for interlock users.
We work with many experienced DUI attorneys in Georgia. Check the list if you are having trouble finding representation.
To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.
Customers Have Great Things to Say
Why Choose Intoxalock?
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.