Skip to Content
      Get Started
      Call Us
      Free Quote
      Locations
      Live Chat

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL 877-274-3419 No waiting. Call now!

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL 877-274-3419
      Building columns of a courthouse

      Hawaii Requirements

      For over a decade, Hawaii has also had an ignition interlock program and requires interlock installation for first-time offenders. This guide will explain the interlock policy in Hawaii and how it works.

      The HI Ignition Interlock Program

      Hawaii has strict drunk driving laws, and criminal and administrative penalties for DUI offenders. The legal BAC limit is .08 percent, and drivers found to be in violation of this limit risk a variety of penalties including license revocation, fines, and community service.

      Hawaii requires offenders to install an ignition interlock device if they have a drunk driving offense and wish to regain driving privileges. There are a variety of penalties for DUI in addition to license revocation, and offenders are responsible for fulfilling all obligations before they can drive again.

      What Happens if I Get a DUI in Hawaii?

      Hawaii has increasing penalties depending on the circumstances of the offense and prior offense record. Typically, drunk or otherwise intoxicated offenders will face penalties with the below.

      First DUI Offense

      • One or more of the following:
        • Fines between around $250 and $1,000 along with various sundry fees
        • 72 hours of community service
        • Jail time for a minimum of 48 hours and a maximum of no more than five days
      • Driver's license revoked for one year minimum and 18 months maximum
      • Ignition interlock from an approved provider like Intoxalock is required during revocation period
      • Must attend a substance abuse rehab program for at least 14 hours 

      Second DUI Offense (Within 10 Years of Prior Offense)

      • Driver's license revoked for two to three years
      • Fines between around $1,000 to $3,000 plus sundry additional fees
      • Jail time minimum of five days to maximum of 30 days
      • At least 240 hours of community service work may be assigned in lieu of jail time
      • Ignition interlock from an approved provider is required during revocation period
      • Must attend a substance abuse program for at least 36 hours 

      Habitual Offenders

      • Fines between around $2,000 to $5,000
      • License revoked for three to five years
      • Jail term of a minimum 10 days to a maximum 30 days
      • Ignition interlock from an approved provider like Intoxalock is required during revocation period
      • Referral to a certified substance abuse counselor

      First DUI Offense, Under 21

      • Driver's license suspended for between 30 and 108 days (if the offender is under 18, they may receive a 30-day full suspension and restrictions for the remaining time)
      • If offender is under 18, their parent or guardian will be required to attend an alcohol abuse education and counseling program
      • Fines between $150 and $500
      • 36 hours of community service may be assigned in lieu of fines

      There are increased penalties for all offenders if there are aggravating factors during the offense. One  example is a scenario where a child under the age of 15 is present during the offense. In that circumstance, the offender will face an additional fine of $500, license revocation for at least two years, and a possible extra 48 hours in jail. Other aggravating factors include extremely high BAC, injury, or death caused by the incident.

      What Happens if I Refuse to Submit to a DUI Test in Hawaii?

      Refusing a test does not eliminate consequences. Offenders who decline testing still face penalties, including license revocation for one year for first-time offenders.  For subsequent suspensions, offenders risk three to five years license suspension.

      How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Hawaii?

      Some drivers are able to regain driving privileges during the revocation period as long as they meet a variety of criteria. This criteria could include:

      • Paying any fines related to their DUI or other moving violations
      • Filling out the appropriate application
      • Obtaining and showing proof of high-risk insurance coverage with an SR-22 certificate
      • Complete or enroll in community service requirements, treatment, or educational classes mandated by the court
      • Finish any required jail time and serve any required portion of the revocation period
      • Install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider, like Intoxalock
      • Pay an license fees 

      Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      The Process: What to Expect

      1. Consult with Legal Counsel

      2. Get an Assessment

      3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance

      4. Schedule interlock install

      5. Regular monitoring

      6. Device removal

      Interlock Cost in Hawaii

      Offenders are responsible for the cost of their ignition interlock devices in Hawaii. The costs are typically around $100 for installation and $2.50 to $3.50 per day for leasing.
      Find an Install Location Near You

      Expert DUI Attorneys in Hawaii

      Attorneys will represent your interests in court. An experienced DUI attorney can help guide you through the process. If you are unsure how to find an attorney, we partner with several in your area.

      Wong Leong Cuccia

      24 N Church St, Suite 407
      Wailuku, HI 96793

      Hawaii FAQs

      An ignition interlockdevice is a mobile breathalyzer that is installed in your vehicle to prevent driving while intoxicated. It is made up a handheld unit that is attached to your vehicles ignition system. You are required to blow into the mouthpiece to test your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC) before starting your car.

      A Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) is simply another name for an ignition interlock device commonly used in Illinois.

      To view Illinois IID requirements, please visit the Illinois state page.

      For pricing information, see Illinois pricing.

      Please visit the Illinois state page to learn what steps you need to take to get back on the road.

      Contact your monitoring authority to ensure you are eligible for removal.

      To find the Illinois Intoxalock service center closest to you, please visit our Illinois ignition interlock installation locations.

      The only way to confirm you are eligible to remove the device is to check with your monitoring authority.

      To learn more about the steps to regaining your license, please visit our Illinois state page.

      Please visit the Illinois state page to learn about other DUI requirements.

      For pricing information, see the Illinois pricing page.

      To find a DUI attorney, please visit Intoxalock’s Illinois DUI attorney partners page.
       

      To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.

      To learn more about ignition interlock information, please visit our partner site.

      Customers Have Great Things to Say

      Intoxalock man customer service representative on call
      “Intoxalock customer service reps answered all my questions, made the process worry free, and promptly responded to my email when I had additional questions. Install was quick and easy. Service employee showed me how to use the device and let me take all the time I needed. App download and account creation was simple.”
      Jack
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “What an amazing customer service representative! So lively and beyond friendly. Felt like I had a new best friend for the entire experience. She got me set up with everything, painlessly and quickly, and was very thorough in her explanations. Thank you for a making my experience a pleasant one.”
      Brittany
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “The representative assisting me with my case has been amazing! She is very helpful and understanding. I have felt comfortable working with her since day one of me calling this place. She explains everything very clearly and follows up to see if you need further assistance. I definitely recommend this company and working with her!”
      Katherine

      Why Choose Intoxalock?

      Affordable
      Easy to Use
      Convenient
      24/7/365 Support
      Mobile App
      Legal Disclaimer

      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 


      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. 
      Call Us Anytime at
      Call Us Anytime at 877-274-3419
      Our state specialists are ready to answer your questions and get you through the process, one step at a time. 
      Intoxalock 30 Years
      AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
      MADD logo
      APPA logo
      BBB logo