Skip to Content
      Get Started
      Call Us
      Free Quote
      Locations
      Live Chat

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL 877-274-3419 No waiting. Call now!

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL 877-274-3419
      Building columns of a courthouse

      Michigan Requirements

      Michigan has multiple penalties for OWI offenders. There are administrative penalties and financial ones. This guide will go over the interlock process in Michigan.

      DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.

       

      The MI Ignition Interlock Program

      Michigan offenders will likely have their license suspended for a period of time following an OWI offense, but they can regain driving privileges if they are approved for a restricted license. To be approved, they must meet several criteria including installing an ignition interlock device.This penalty is typically enforced, even for first offenders. Some offenders can get back behind the wheel if they obtain a restricted license. An ignition interlock is required, and Intoxalock meets all of Michigan’s criteria.

      What Happens if I Get an OWI in Michigan?

      The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in Michigan is .08 percent. Any offender who is found driving with a BAC at or above that limit risks several penalties. These penalties include jail time, fines, and administrative penalties like license suspension. Penalties increase for second offenders, particularly if the offense is within seven years of the first. They risk up to a year in jail and 30 to 90 days of community service. Their driver’s license can be revoked for up to a year, and their license plate may be confiscated. Offenders could have their vehicle immobilized for up to 180 days or even forfeited.

      First OWI Offense

      • Up to 93 days in jail
      • 360 hours of community service
      • Fine up to $500
      • License restricted for 150 days or more
      • License plate may be confiscated
      • Six points added to the offender’s driving record
      • Ignition interlock may be required to regain license

      Second OWI Offense

      • Five days to one year in jail
      • 30-90 days of community service
      • Must pay between $200-$1,000 in fines
      • Suspension of driver’s license for one year
      • Car immobilized for 90-180 days
      • License plate may be confiscated
      • Four points added to the offender’s driving record
      • Interlock required to regain license

      Third OWI Offense

      • One to five years in jail, or probation with 30 days to one year in jail
      • 60-180 days of community service
      • Driver’s license revoked for at least one year (likely more, especially if the offense is the third within 10 years)
      • $500 to $5,000 in fines
      • Car immobilized for one to three years
      • Six points added to the offender’s driving record
      • Interlock required during suspension and treatment (and possibly longer)

      If the incidents involve an elevated blood alcohol content, .17 percent or higher, there may be harsher penalties. There are also harsher penalties applied to offenders who cause injury, death, or property damage during the alcohol-related driving incident.

      What Happens if I Fail to Complete or Refuse to Submit to an OWI Test in Michigan?

      There are still consequences for offenders who refuse a chemical or breath test to determine their BAC. The consequences are similar to those faced by offenders found to have a blood alcohol content above the legal BAC limit in Michigan. They include:

      • Six points added to the offender’s driving record
      • License suspended for one year (on the first offense)
      • License suspended for two years if it is the second offense and test refusal within seven years
      • Repeat offenders are not allowed a hardship appeals process in circuit court for this scenario

      How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Michigan?

      Some OWI offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock and are approved for a restricted license. The ignition interlock is required and may be required beyond the suspension period by the court. To qualify, offenders must:

      • Install an IID from a trusted provider like Intoxalock
      • Submit all appropriate paperwork to the court
      • Pay all fees, serve any jail time
      • Serve the required portion of their suspension
      • Provide proof of SR-22 insurance

      There may be additional criteria depending on the circumstances of the offense.

      Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      The Process: What to Expect

      1. Consult with Legal Counsel

      2. Get an Assessment

      3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance

      4. Schedule interlock install

      5. Regular monitoring

      6. Device removal

      Interlock Cost in Michigan

      Offenders in Michigan are responsible for the cost of their device.
      Find an Install Location Near You

      Expert OWI Attorneys in Michigan

      Attorneys will represent your interests in court. An experienced OWI attorney can help guide you through the process. If you are unsure how to find an attorney, we partner with several in your area.

      Edward A. Cherniak, PC

      30445 Northwestern Hwy, Suite 230
      Farmington Hills, MI 48334

      Geherin Law Group, PLLC

      760 W Eisenhower Pkwy, Suite 305
      Ann Arbor, MI 48103

      Klawuhn Law PC

      2115 US Highway 31 N
      Petoskey, MI 49770

      Boria Law Office

      472 Starkweather St
      Plymouth, MI 48170

      Michigan FAQs

      Yes, financial assistance is available for those with an annual income that is 150% below the federal poverty line.

      To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.

      Visit the Michigan locations page to review all locations in Michigan.

      Check the Michigan state page for all DUI penalties.

      Your Michigan driver’s license, and verification from your state monitoring authority. You won’t need to provide the authorization paperwork, but be sure to verify your eligibility for removal before having the device removed.

      You should bring a Michigan driver’s license or state identification card to your installation appointment, and the name of the registered vehicle owner.

      Ignition interlock costs may vary depending on the provider and type of interlock device you are required to install. Intoxalock customers in Michigan pay a deposit of $107.99 for installation, and a $29.99 set-up fee. Monthly leasing fees will be $107.99, but this amount can be paid monthly or bi-weekly.

      You should have completed your court date or applied for license reinstatement prior to making your installation appointment. Our state specialists can help you make an appointment once you are ready for installation.

      Michigan allows some drunk driving offenders to regain driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. The state has a list of approved providers to choose from, and the state monitoring authority receives data once the interlock is installed.

      An ignition interlock device is a safety device that ensures the car won't start if the driver has been drinking, acting as a preventive measure against drunk driving.

      Once you have verified with the monitoring authority that you are eligible for removal, you can proceed with removal plans. Make your removal appointment with the interlock provider you had the device installed by.

      To learn more about ignition interlock information, please visit our ignition interlock device page.

      Intoxlaock can help. We partner with many experienced DUI attorneys throughout the state and can provide you with contact information.

      .

      Customers Have Great Things to Say

      Intoxalock man customer service representative on call
      “Intoxalock customer service reps answered all my questions, made the process worry free, and promptly responded to my email when I had additional questions. Install was quick and easy. Service employee showed me how to use the device and let me take all the time I needed. App download and account creation was simple.”
      Jack
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “What an amazing customer service representative! So lively and beyond friendly. Felt like I had a new best friend for the entire experience. She got me set up with everything, painlessly and quickly, and was very thorough in her explanations. Thank you for a making my experience a pleasant one.”
      Brittany
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “The representative assisting me with my case has been amazing! She is very helpful and understanding. I have felt comfortable working with her since day one of me calling this place. She explains everything very clearly and follows up to see if you need further assistance. I definitely recommend this company and working with her!”
      Katherine

      Why Choose Intoxalock?

      Affordable
      Easy to Use
      Convenient
      24/7/365 Support
      Mobile App
      Legal Disclaimer

      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 


      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. 
      Call Us Anytime at
      Call Us Anytime at 877-274-3419
      Our state specialists are ready to answer your questions and get you through the process, one step at a time. 
      Intoxalock 30 Years
      AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
      MADD logo
      APPA logo
      BBB logo