Skip to Content
      Get Started
      Call Us
      Free Quote
      Locations
      Live Chat

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL 877-274-3419 No waiting. Call now!

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL 877-274-3419

      North Carolina Requirements

      Intoxalock is now a recognized interlock provider in North Carolina. This guide will explain the interlock process in North Carolina.

      Now available in North Carolina: Easy Enroll is a simple 3-step process to get pricing & schedule your appointment online. Get started now!

       

      The NC Ignition Interlock Program

      In North Carolina, the legal blood alcohol content limit is .08 percent, or .04 percent for commercial license holders. All offenders found to have a BAC above the legal limit will have their license revoked for 30 days. This period may be extended if they are convicted.

      Alcohol-based driving offenses in North Carolina are categorized into five different levels, one through five. Level One is considered the most serious offense, and Level Five the least serious. The penalties for each offense increase as the severity level increases. All penalties include a possibility of driving privileges being taken away. In some cases, the court may require the offender to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in order to regain their driving privileges.

      What Happens if I Get a DWI in North Carolina?

      The following penalties apply to DWI offenders of various levels in North Carolina. Level Five is considered the least severe, and Level One is the most severe. In some situations, Level Three, Four, and Five offenders may be eligible to regain limited driving privileges during their suspension term. Penalties may be increased depending on the exact circumstances of a DWI offense and the driver’s previous record.

      DWI Level Five

      • Up to $200 fine
      • 24 hours minimum to 60 days maximum jail term
      • Sentences can be suspended if the offender spends 24 hours in jail and/or performs 24 hours of community service
      • License suspension can increase to one year
      • If the offender is placed on probation, they must complete a substance abuse assessment and may need to attend substance abuse treatment or classes to regain driving privileges, if under 21 years old
      • Interlock can be required by the court

      DWI Level Four

      • Fine up to $500
      • Jail sentence minimum of 48 hours to maximum of 120 days
      • Sentences can be suspended if the offender spends 48 hours in jail and/or performs 48 hours of community service
      • License suspension period can increase to one year
      • If the offender is placed on probation, they must complete a substance abuse assessment and may need to attend substance abuse treatment or classes to regain driving privileges
      • Interlock can be required by the court

      DWI Level Three

      • Fine up to $1,000
      • Minimum jail sentence of 72 hours, maximum of six months
      • Sentences can be suspended if the offender spends 72 hours in jail and/or performs 72 hours of community service
      • License suspension can increase to one year
      • If the offender is placed on probation, they must complete a substance abuse assessment and may need to attend substance abuse treatment or classes to regain driving privileges
      • Interlock can be required by the court

      DWI Level Two

      • Fine up to $2,000
      • Minimum jail sentence of seven days with a maximum of one year
      • For Level Two offenders, the judge cannot suspend the minimum sentence but can reduce the sentence if above seven days with conditions of special probation such as alcohol monitoring.
      • License suspension can increase to one year if convicted
      • If the offender is placed on probation, they must complete a substance abuse assessment and may need to attend substance abuse treatment or classes to regain driving privileges
      • Interlock can be required by the court

      DWI Level One

      • Fine up to $4,000
      • Minimum jail sentence of 30 days with a maximum of two years
      • The judge can reduce the imprisonment sentence to a minimum of 10 days with conditions of special probation such as alcohol monitoring
      • License suspension can increase to one year
      • If the offender is placed on probation, they must complete a substance abuse assessment and may need to attend substance abuse treatment or classes to regain driving privileges=
      • Interlock can be required by the court

      What Happens if I Refuse to Submit to a DWI Test in North Carolina?

      A driver who refuses the test, their license will immediately be revoked for at least 30 days. An additional year is added on after an opportunity for a hearing. Some drivers may be able to regain their driving privileges after a six-month waiting period.

      How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in North Carolina?

      In North Carolina, offenders who refuse to take a BAC test or are convicted of DWI will have their license suspended. These license suspensions can last from one year to permanent, depending on the offense. However, some drivers are able to get limited driving privileges back with a limited license, sometimes called a restricted license or a hardship license. Eligible drivers must meet the following criteria:

      • In North Carolina, offenders who refuse to take a BAC test or are convicted of DWI will have their license suspended. These license suspensions can last from one year to permanent, depending on the offense. However, some drivers are able to get limited driving privileges back with a limited license, sometimes called a restricted license or a hardship license. Eligible drivers must meet the following criteria:
      • Offender must apply and request a hearing - the prosecutor’s office is notified of the hearing and has the opportunity to present arguments against granting a restricted license. The judge is ultimately responsible for granting the limited driving privileges, or not.
      • Must hold a valid driver’s license at the time of the offense or a license that had been expired for less than one year
      • Have not been convicted for a DWI offense within seven years of their current offense
      • They received a Level Three, Four, or Five penalty for the conviction (Level One and Level Two offenders are likely ineligible)
      • Since their conviction, they have not been charged with or convicted of another DWI offense
      • They got a substance abuse assessment and filed it with the court
      • Have not violated previous temporary license restrictions
      • High-risk drivers who had a BAC of .15 percent or higher must meet additional requirements including:
        • Installing an ignition interlock device

      Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      The Process: What to Expect

      1. Consult with Legal Counsel

      2. Get an Assessment

      3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance

      4. Schedule interlock install

      5. Regular monitoring

      6. Device removal

      Interlock Cost in North Carolina

      In North Carolina, offenders are responsible for the cost of leasing their device. The devices typically cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. Intoxalock offers several payment options and allows offenders to pay in advance for their lease if they wish to do so.
      Find an Install Location Near You

      Expert DWI Attorneys in North Carolina

      Attorneys will represent your interests in court. An experienced DWI attorney can help guide you through the process. If you are unsure how to find an attorney, we partner with several in your area.

      Law Office of C. Walters

      138 N Cee St
      Salisbury, NC 28144

      Mansfield Law Firm PLLC

      410 N Chestnut St
      Lumberton, NC 28358

      Military Justice Center

      120 Westlake Rd, Suite 6
      Fayetteville, NC 28314

      The Law Offices of J. Scott Smith, PLLC

      250 Executive Park Blvd, Suite 100
      Winston Salem, NC 27103

      North Carolina FAQs

      Yes, financial assistance is available to those whose income is 150% below the federal poverty line, and those who receive certain types of public assistance.

      Visit the North Carolina locations page to review all locations in North Carolina.

      To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.

      The costs of your IID can vary depending on your provider. Intoxalock customers pay a $49.99 to $76.95 deposit and a $29.99 to $300 setup fee. The monthly fees total $49.99 to $76.95 for leasing the device.

      North Carolina has a variety of penalties for DUI, and many offenders will have their license suspended. Some may be able to regain driving privileges by installing an ignition interlock device from a recognized provider like Intoxalock.

      Check the North Carolina state page for all DUI penalties.

      You will receive a letter from the state if you are required to install an ignition interlock device, at which point you should make an appointment for installation.

      You should bring your removal authorization to your appointment.

      You should bring your driver’s license to the appointment.

      An ignition interlock device is a sophisticated device that promotes responsible behavior by making it impossible to start the car if the driver has consumed alcohol.

      You will have to obtain a new license after installation. The removal date should be listed on the back of the license, unless your interlock term is extended.

      To learn more about ignition interlock information, please visit our ignition interlock device page.

      We partner with many DUI attorneys in North Carolina, contact us for help finding one near you.

      Customers Have Great Things to Say

      Intoxalock man customer service representative on call
      “Intoxalock customer service reps answered all my questions, made the process worry free, and promptly responded to my email when I had additional questions. Install was quick and easy. Service employee showed me how to use the device and let me take all the time I needed. App download and account creation was simple.”
      Jack
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “What an amazing customer service representative! So lively and beyond friendly. Felt like I had a new best friend for the entire experience. She got me set up with everything, painlessly and quickly, and was very thorough in her explanations. Thank you for a making my experience a pleasant one.”
      Brittany
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “The representative assisting me with my case has been amazing! She is very helpful and understanding. I have felt comfortable working with her since day one of me calling this place. She explains everything very clearly and follows up to see if you need further assistance. I definitely recommend this company and working with her!”
      Katherine

      Why Choose Intoxalock?

      Affordable
      Easy to Use
      Convenient
      24/7/365 Support
      Mobile App
      Legal Disclaimer

      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 


      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. 
      Call Us Anytime at
      Call Us Anytime at 877-274-3419
      Our state specialists are ready to answer your questions and get you through the process, one step at a time. 
      Intoxalock 30 Years
      AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
      MADD logo
      APPA logo
      BBB logo