The ignition interlock process in AZ can be confusing and lengthy, but Intoxalock is here to help you every step of the way. This page will cover what you need to get back on the road, from petitioning for a special ignition interlock restricted driver license (SIIRDL) to getting an IID installed.
What Happens if I Get a DUI in Arizona?
First DUI Offense
- 24 hours to 10 days in jail
- 90 days to one-year license suspension
- Fines and assessments of at least $1,250: Fine of $250 and two assessments costing $500 each
- Ignition interlock device that meets Arizona state criteria is mandatoryf the DUI was from alcohol, and IID may be required by court order for other intoxicants
- Offenders can request a “Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License,” or SIIRDL, that allows them to drive while their license is suspended
- Offender waives right to a hearing contesting their license suspension if a SIIRDL is granted
- If the offender’s SIIRDL request is granted prior to sentencing, they will receive credit for the time their IID has already been installed and it will count towards sentencing requirements
- May be ordered to perform community restitution
Second DUI Offense
- 30-90 days in jail
- One-year license revocation
- Fines and assessments of at least $3,000: Fine of $500 and two $1,250 assessments
- Ignition interlock device Arizona approves required for Restricted License
Third DUI Offense
- Minimum of four months in jail
- Fines and assessments of at least $3,750: Fine of at least $750 and two $1,500 assessments
- Have their license revoked for one year
- Ignition interlock that meets state criteria is required for Restricted License
In addition to these penalties, AZ DUI laws state that an offender may need to enroll in additional addiction treatment or educational programs. There is a list of information and approved facilities available through ADOT if you need to attend a course. The court may also mandate a specific course, so check for information from them as well.
The penalties for an “extreme DUI,” which applies to people with alcohol concentrations of 0.15 or higher, are higher.
How Do I Get a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver's License (SIIRDL) in Arizona?
As of January 1, 2023, Arizona allows first-time offenders to request a SIIRDL in lieu of a driving privileges suspension. Second-time offenders are also eligible, as long as their offense was not aggravated DUI. This means that if your license is suspended but you need to drive, you can do so if you install an IID and are granted a SIIRDL. To qualify for a SIIRDL, offenders:
- If the SIIRDL is granted, the offender waives their right to a hearing contesting their license suspension
- To obtain the SIIRDL, offender must install an interlock device that meets Arizona state criteria
- Should meet all other criteria required by law, such as paying all fines, license fees, obtaining necessary and completing any mandates from the court
The SIIRDL is designed to help drivers regain their driving privileges. Other offenders may be eligible for a Restricted License, which limits where they can drive to approved locations like school, work, medical appointments and other necessary spots.
To obtain a Restricted License, offenders should:
- Contact the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) online or by phone to confirm eligibility
- Install a certified Arizona ignition interlock device and provide verification of installation to the MVD
- Comply with any required mandatory alcohol treatment programs and submit proof of completion to the MVD
- Submit an SR-22 Certificate of Automobile Liability insurance
- Pay any applicable fees (no personal checks)
Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
The Process: What to Expect
1. Consult with Legal Counsel
2. Get an Assessment
3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance
4. Schedule interlock install
5. Regular monitoring
6. Device removal
Interlock Cost in Arizona
If your sentence includes mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, this means you will be paying for it yourself. IIDs are leased, not purchased outright. All ignition interlock costs must be covered by the driver. Prices vary depending on your monitoring needs, but typically cost between $2 and $3 a day. Intoxalock also offers DPP+, a protection plan for your device in case of damage, for $10 a month. A state specialist can help confirm pricing options for you.
Find an Install Location Near You
Expert DUI Attorneys in Arizona
Horan Law Office
Phoenix, AZ 85028
Lloyd Law Group LLC
Payson, AZ 85541
Phoenix, AZ 85016
The Law Office of David M Cantor
Phoenix, AZ 85004
An ignition interlock device is a safety mechanism installed in a car to prevent intoxicated individuals from driving.
Some offenders in Arizona may be required to install an ignition interlock device in order to regain their driving privileges. The state has approved multiple interlock providers that will fulfill this requirement. Intoxalock is an approved interlock provider in the state of Arizona.
Interlocks are leased, not purchased outright. At the installation appointment, customers will pay a $20 installation fee plus a deposit of $75.99 to $115.99. The monthly lease costs between $77.99 and $139.99 as well.
When you are ready to install, you can make an appointment at your selected interlock provider. Intoxalock has multiple locations throughout the state.
You will need to provide your Arizona driver’s license or ID card, as well as your first, middle, and last name. If you do not own the vehicle, you will need to provide the name of the registered owner.
Intoxalock is an approved provider in Arizona and has locations throughout the state. You can choose one that is convenient for you to visit for installation and calibration appointments.
You can return to an Intoxalock service center to have your device removed once you have completed your requirements set by the state monitoring authority.
You will need to verify you have permission to remove your IID from your state’s monitoring authority. There may be a fee associated with removing the device prior to the lease’s end date.
Penalties include fines, and possible jail time. Any additional requirements should be made clear to you in court.
No, financial assistance is not available for ignition interlock device users in Arizona.
To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.
We have researched experienced DUI attorneys in Arizona and have a list you can use to help you find one to work with.
Customers Have Great Things to Say
Why Choose Intoxalock?
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.