Skip to Content
      Get Started
      Call Us
      Free Quote
      Locations
      Live Chat

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL 877-274-3419 No waiting. Call now!

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL 877-274-3419
      Building columns of a courthouse

      Minnesota Requirements

      The Minnesota ignition interlock device process can be stressful at first, but Intoxalock is here to help. This guide will cover what to do to regain your driving privileges with an IID in Minnesota.

      The MN Ignition Interlock Program

      Minnesota State Law Update - Effective August 1, 2021: Minnesota allows offenders convicted of DWI to regain their driving privileges by installing an ignition interlock device (IID) and meeting other criteria. 

      With the recent Minnesota state law changes, effective August 1, 2021, the state eliminated the waiting period for those required to get interlocks. Additionally, offenders will not need to get special impoundment plates that were previously required for those in the IID program, and testing requirements and location restrictions are no longer in effect for IID licenses. Finally, repeat offenders will now participate in a compliance-based removal. This means customers will be required to complete the program and their IID term may be extended if they re-offend.

      What Happens if I Get a DWI in Minnesota?

      The legal BAC limit in Minnesota is .08 percent, and the state considers anyone at or above this level to be in violation of the law. The state also has harsher penalties for offenders with a BAC at or above .16, or twice the limit. There are financial and administrative penalties for offenders.

      First DWI Offense

      • 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine
      • 90 days without driving privileges, unless an IID is installed
      • $680 license reinstatement fee
      • Driver’s license application fees
      • Chemical health assessment

      For those with a BAC that’s above .16, or those with a child in the car, the offense has harsher penalties. They include a year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine, one year without driving privileges (unless they get a restricted license and install an IID), and impoundment of all license plates registered in the offender’s name.

      Second DWI Offense

      • One year in jail and/or $3,000 fine
      • One year without driving privileges, unless an IID is installed
      • $680 license reinstatement fee
      • Driver’s license application fees
      • Chemical health assessment

      For those with a BAC that’s above .16, or those with a child in the car, the penalties are a year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine, two years without driving privileges, and impoundment of all license plates registered in the offender’s name. Offenders may be able to regain privileges by installing an IID.

      Third DWI Offense

      • One year in jail and/or $3,000 fine
      • License canceled
      • Required to enroll in treatment and install an IID to get a limited license, which limits where the offender can drive
      • Three to five years of IID Restricted license after completing treatment
      • $680 license reinstatement fee
      • Driver’s license application fees
      • Chemical health assessment

      The penalties and fines may differ depending on the specifics of the DWI incident.

      How Do I Get a Restricted License in Minnesota?

      In Minnesota, offenders who wish to regain their driving privileges have to meet a variety of criteria. Some may be able to obtain a limited license, which only allows them to drive to certain locations like school and work. This typically applies to those who are more than twice the legal BAC limit or had other extenuating circumstances during their offense like a child in the car.

      Other offenders are eligible for a restricted license. A restricted license does not limit where the offender can drive, but it does require them to install and use an ignition interlock device. Offenders must also:

      • Wait the necessary revocation period (note, as of August 1, 2021, this revocation period no longer applies and offenders can apply right away)
      • Enroll in a treatment program and have the treatment provider share proof of enrollment with the Minnesota Department of Vehicle Services
      • Pass a test about DWI knowledge
      • Pay any applicable fines and reinstatement fees
      • Install an IID, sign an Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement, and complete a limited license or restricted license application

      Get a Free Quote! Call 877-274-3419

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      The Process: What to Expect

      1. Consult with Legal Counsel

      2. Get an Assessment

      3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance

      4. Schedule interlock install

      5. Regular monitoring

      6. Device removal

      Interlock Cost in Minnesota

      Offenders are responsible for the cost of installing and leasing the ignition interlock device, but Minnesota does offer financial assistance for those in need. The court or Driver Vehicle Services determine who is eligible for this financial aid. The typical cost of an ignition interlock device is between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
      Find an Install Location Near You

      Expert DWI Attorneys in Minnesota

      Attorneys will represent your interests in court. An experienced DWI attorney can help guide you through the process. If you are unsure how to find an attorney, we partner with several in your area.

      Kelsey Law Office

      4927 S 34th Ave
      Minneapolis, MN 55417

      Alan G. Jontz, P.A.

      170 Ruth St N, Suite 204
      Saint Paul, MN 55119

      Margoles & Margoles, P.A.

      120 S 6th St, Suite 1515
      Minneapolis, MN 55402

      LaCourse, Poole & Envall, P.A.

      130 W Superior St, Suite 430
      Duluth, MN 55802

      Minnesota FAQs

      An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that is installed in your vehicle to prevent drinking and driving. It is made up of a mouthpiece, a handheld unit and a cord that attaches to your vehicle’s ignition system. You are required to blow into the mouthpiece to test your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC) before starting your car. For more information see our what is an interlock page.

      To view Minnesota IID requirements, please visit the Minnesota state page.

      For pricing information, see Minnesota pricing.

      Please visit the Minnesota state page to learn what steps you need to take to get back on the road.

      To learn more about the steps to regaining your license, please visit our Minnesota state page.

      To find the Minnesota Intoxalock service center closest to you, please visit our Minnesota ignition interlock installation locations.

      The only way to confirm you are eligible to remove the device is to check with your monitoring authority.

      Contact your monitoring authority to ensure you are eligible for removal.

      Please visit the Minnesota state page to learn about other DWI requirements.

      For pricing information, see the Minnesota pricing page.

      To find an DWI attorney in Minnesota, please visit Intoxalock's Minnesota attorney partners page.

      To find a treatment center, please visit Intoxalock's Minnesota alcohol treatment centers page

      .

      To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.

      To learn more about ignition interlock information, please visit our ignition interlock device page.

      Customers Have Great Things to Say

      Intoxalock man customer service representative on call
      “Intoxalock customer service reps answered all my questions, made the process worry free, and promptly responded to my email when I had additional questions. Install was quick and easy. Service employee showed me how to use the device and let me take all the time I needed. App download and account creation was simple.”
      Jack
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “What an amazing customer service representative! So lively and beyond friendly. Felt like I had a new best friend for the entire experience. She got me set up with everything, painlessly and quickly, and was very thorough in her explanations. Thank you for a making my experience a pleasant one.”
      Brittany
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “The representative assisting me with my case has been amazing! She is very helpful and understanding. I have felt comfortable working with her since day one of me calling this place. She explains everything very clearly and follows up to see if you need further assistance. I definitely recommend this company and working with her!”
      Katherine

      Why Choose Intoxalock?

      Affordable
      Easy to Use
      Convenient
      24/7/365 Support
      Mobile App
      Legal Disclaimer

      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 


      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. 
      Call Us Anytime at
      Call Us Anytime at 877-274-3419
      Our state specialists are ready to answer your questions and get you through the process, one step at a time. 
      Intoxalock 30 Years
      AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
      MADD logo
      APPA logo
      BBB logo