Not signed up for an account? Sign up
I have been extremely pleased with the level of customer service provided by Intoxalock. The customer service representatives I have dealt with have added an unexpected level of comfort and ease to this experience.”
- Dave, Intoxalock driver
What to do after getting a DUI can be confusing. Intoxalock is here to help. We have over 20 years of experience helping people just like you install an ignition interlock device in Mississippi and get back on the road.
Don’t let the thought of installing an ignition interlock (car breathalyzer, BAIID, IID or interlock system) intimidate you. Our state specialists will help you find a local service center, schedule an installation near your home, answer all of your ignition interlock questions and walk you through the process of regaining your license as quickly as possible.
Drivers under 21 years of age with a Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) of 0.02% to 0.08% follow provisions set by Mississippi’s “Zero Tolerance for Minors” law. First offenders are eligible for non-adjudication of a qualifying offense. Upon conviction, the court will order you to attend and complete alcohol safety education program within one year. The Department of Public Safety will suspend your driver’s license for 90 days unless the license has already been surrendered and an ignition interlock restricted driver’s license has been received.
If you are under 21 and are convicted of a second offense DUI with a BrAC between 0.02% and 0.08%, your license will be suspended for one year unless it has been surrendered and replaced with the interlock restricted license. You must drive under this restricted interlock license for one full year. Should you choose to sit out your suspension time, you are eligible to have this time reduced to six months if you receive an in-depth diagnostic assessment and successfully complete treatment for alcohol or drug abuse.
If you are under 21 and are convicted of a third offense DUI with a BrAC between 0.02% and 0.08%, your license will be suspended for two years or until you reach 21, whichever is longer.
If you are under 21 and are convicted of a DUI with a BrAC greater than 0.08%, you may be subject to the penalties outlined for people over the age of 21.
If you are arrested for a first offense DUI in Mississippi, your driving privileges will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days unless the person has surrendered his/her license. A driver must obtain an interlock restricted driver’s license. A driver will be ineligible for a non-restricted license for 90 days. The court orders the driver to attend and complete an alcohol safety education program within one year.
NOTE: You may be eligible for non-adjudication of a first offense if you complete all requirements provided to you by the court.
If you are arrested for a second offense DUI, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. You may also surrender your license to be voided and obtain an ignition interlock license and device. You will be required to either have your license suspended for one year or drive exclusively under an ignition interlock license for one year.
If you are arrested for a third offense DUI, you may only drive under a restricted ignition interlock driver’s license for three years following release from incarceration.
NOTE: A driver convicted of a second or subsequent violation shall receive an in-depth diagnostic assessment, and if needed, complete treatment at an approved program. The driver convicted is responsible for the fees associated.
If a driver refuses the officer’s request to provide a breath test or is unconscious at the time of the test and refuses to consent, there will be an additional administrative suspension of driving privileges unless the person surrenders his/her driver’s license and obtains an ignition interlock restricted license. You will be limited to driving only under the ignition interlock restricted license for twice the imposed suspension. Any other license restriction will run consecutively with the administrative suspension for test refusal imposed.
A restricted license that a driver can obtain that requires having an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle(s) in order to legally drive:
NOTE: If the person’s privilege to drive has been suspended due to the person’s DUI, the person must also pay reinstatement fees. If the person obtains an interlock restricted license before suspension of the driver’s license, the fee will not be accessed.
This information is provided as a guideline only. Each case will vary.