Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
There are a variety of penalties for drunk driving offenses in Maryland. The penalties increase for each offense, especially if they occur within a short time of one another. In some cases, an ignition interlock device must be installed to regain driving privileges. There are two types of alcohol-based driving offenses in Maryland. Driving under the influence is considered for offenders driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher. DWI, or driving while impaired, applies to drivers who have a BAC of .07 percent.
This guide will go over the consequences of DUI and ignition interlock laws in Maryland.
By clicking the button below, you consent to
Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through
the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Intoxalock has more locations than any other ignition interlock provider. You can choose one that is convenient for you. You will need to return for calibration and removal so make sure it’s easy to get to.
In Maryland, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08 percent, so anyone found driving who has a BAC of .08 percent or more is at risk for DUI. There are additional penalties handed out depending on the circumstances of the alcohol-based driving incident.
Penalties for DUI in Maryland are both administrative and legal, and they increase for each offense. Penalties may also increase depending on the exact circumstances of the incident, such as if anyone is injured or a child is present.
The court may add additional penalties depending on the circumstances of the offense, such as if there were prior offenses, property damage, or an excessively high BAC.
Refusing the test does not excuse an offender from consequences. Refusing to take a blood alcohol content test is an automatic license suspension for 270 days, and two years on a second offense and refusal. There may be additional fines and penalties handed out depending on the circumstances of the offense.
Per Maryland DUI laws, criminal aspects of the DUI offense are handled in court. There is also a separate administrative hearing regarding driving privileges. This hearing is where restrictions and revocations are discussed and decided.
Eligible drivers may be allowed to apply for a restricted license that allows them to regain driving privileges. If approved they will be allowed to drive to approved locations.
To get a restricted driver’s license in Maryland, offenders must:
Maryland ignition interlock device laws state that court-ordered IIDs must be installed by an approved provider. Intoxalock is an approved provider in Maryland, and has multiple locations throughout the state.
An IID is a device installed near your ignition that you must blow into before starting your car. Each device:
The Intoxalock eLert device is approved for use in Maryland. It is affordable and meets all criteria.
Maryland ignition interlock device costs are covered by the offender. Devices are typically leased as opposed to purchased outright. Maryland does offer financial assistance to offenders who qualify.
Attorneys are experienced in the courtroom, and a DUI attorney can help ensure your rights are represented in court. Intoxalock partners with several attorneys in Maryland.