Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
In Kentucky, driving under the influence is punishable by a variety of penalties. The legal blood alcohol content limit is .08 percent, and drivers found to be at or above that limit may be penalized. Penalties include license suspension, even for first-time offenders. However, Kentucky does allow some offenders to regain driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. This guide will go over the criteria and guidelines for the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program (KIIP).
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
At your installation appointment, the technician will install your device and provide the Certificate of Installation. They’ll also show you how the device works before you drive away.
Kentucky has recently changed the way they hand out license suspensions. As of July 1, 2020, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet hands down a static suspension period based on the offense. After serving a specified portion of the suspension period, offenders can apply for an ignition interlock license. If approved, they will be able to drive as long as they install an IID.
Kentucky penalties increase depending on the number of previous offenses within the past 10 years. This means that a second or third offense within a 10-year period will likely result in a longer suspension period and other harsher penalties for the offender.
It is important to note that the legal BAC threshold for Commercial Driver's License (CDL) holders is .04 percent, half of the legal BAC limit of .08 percent for regular drivers. CDL holders convicted of DUI while driving any vehicle will have their license suspended for one year. After the suspension period, the driver may be able to regain their CDL by paying a reinstatement fee, passing the written and vision tests, and getting a CDL permit. They must hold the CDL permit for 14 days and pass any required skills tests before they can get their CDL license back.
Refusing to take a test in Kentucky does not mean you will get away without penalties. If anyone refuses a test when stopped on suspicion of DUI, their license will be suspended for the same length of time dictated by the statute. Thus, first offenders will have their license suspended for six months and so on.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) oversees the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program. In order to have their suspension period reduced, offenders must have zero violations. The following incidents are considered violations.
If these conditions are met, offenders may be eligible to have their suspension reduced. In order to obtain an IID license, offenders must:
Once they’re able to drive, the KYTC will continue monitoring the offender until it is time for removal. They will mail a Letter of Removal, and the Service Center will provide a Certificate of Renewal once the device is properly removed.
The court may require additional criteria depending on the specifics of the incident.
Intoxalock devices are state-approved, so they will meet all necessary criteria for participation in the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program. Intoxalock is the #1 interlock brand in the country, with more locations than any other provider. With more than 5,000 service centers and 24/7 support, we’re here to help guide you through the entire process.
Ignition interlock devices are designed to prevent drunk driving. They are often called car breathalyzers. When the device is installed, it will:
This is determined by the statute. The length of time may increase depending on the circumstances, or it could shorten if the offender successfully meets the KIIP criteria.
If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
The cost of the device must be covered by the offender. Kentucky does offer financial assistance to offenders who qualify. The typical cost for the device is between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Kentucky?
*Save $20 off your first month of Intoxalock. This cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
A DUI attorney is your advocate in court. They will represent your interests and ensure you understand the legal process and your options. If you are looking for an attorney, we partner with several throughout the state who can help.