Intoxalock menu
Call Intoxalock 24/7 Call us 24/7!
(888) 283-5899
Hablamos español
Call Intoxalock 24/7
Indiana ignition interlock

Ignition interlock 
device information:

I had the [ignition interlock] device for over 6 months with out a single problem. When I needed to call Intoxalock they were always very helpful.

- Dave, Indiana Intoxalock driver

Indiana ignition interlock device laws & requirements

Intoxalock ignition interlock devices are state approved in Indiana” style=
Approved by the
State of Indiana:

What to do after getting a OWI can be confusing. Intoxalock is here to help. We have over 20 years of experience helping people just like you install an ignition interlock in Indiana and get back on the road.

Don’t let the thought of installing a car breathalyzer intimidate you. Our state specialists will help you find a local service center, schedule an installation near your home, answer all of your ignition interlock questions and walk you through the process of regaining your license as quickly as possible. 

Intoxalock ignition interlock device (IID) benefits:

  • Largest service center network in Indiana
  • 50% fewer required calibrations than competitors
  • FREE home delivery with our direct exchange program
  • 24/7 customer service support
  • Affordable pricing
  • Over 1,800 convenient locations nationwide
  • The fastest way to get back on the road legally
State Laws

Additional drunk driving resources:

State of Indiana ignition interlock & drunk driving laws:

Ignition interlock device (IID)

A court can require an IID for a driver convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or in lieu of a suspension when there is probable cause to believe a driver was operating a vehicle while intoxicated prior to conviction. The restriction remains in place for the period determined by the court.

Steps to get back on the road quickly and legally:

  • Check your Official Driver Record at www.myBMV.com to determine your eligibility date* for reinstatement of your driving privileges
  • Pay all fees and fines online, by phone at (888) 692-6841, or by mail to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)
  • Schedule the installation of an approved IID (ignition interlock device), if applicable
  • Provide proof of installation to the court in order to notify the BMV

*If your eligibility date is listed as “indefinite,” then you must complete other requirements before your driving privileges can be reinstated.


First Offense OWI

A first offense OWI is charged as either a Class C or Class A misdemeanor depending on the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level at the time of arrest. A first offense can only occur if the driver has not been convicted of a previous OWI charge within the past five years. The first offense will be treated as a Class D felony if there were any passengers under the age of 18 in the vehicle at the time of the arrest.

Penalties may include:

  • Minimum five days in jail if the BAC level was between 0.08 and 0.14 and a maximum one year in jail if the BAC level was above 0.15. A Class D felony carries a minimum ten days in jail. The judge may order community service in lieu of jail time
  • 500-$5,000 in fines
  • A suspended driver’s license for at least 90 days and up to two years for a first offense. Drivers may be eligible for a hardship license after the first thirty days of the suspension period
  • A $130 license reinstatement fee
  • Completion of a state approved alcohol or drug assessment
Top

Second Offense OWI

A second offense OWI is charged as a Class D felony if it occurs within five years of a previous conviction.

Penalties may include:

  • Minimum ten days or up to three years in jail. The Judge may order community service in lieu of jail time
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • A suspended driver’s license for at least one year and up to two years. If this is a second offense within the past ten years, but greater than five years has lapsed since your previous conviction, your license will be suspended for between 180 days and two years. Drivers may be eligible for a hardship license after the first thirty days of the suspension period
  • The court will require you to install an IID (ignition interlock device) on any vehicle’s that you drive
  • A $130 license reinstatement fee
  • Completion of a state approved alcohol or drug assessment
Top

Third Offense OWI

A third offense OWI is charged as is a Class D felony if it occurs within ten years of two previous convictions.

Penalties may include:

  • Minimum ten days or up to three years in jail. The Judge may order community service in lieu of jail time
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • A suspended driver’s license for at least one year and up to ten years. Drivers may be eligible for a hardship license after the first thirty days of the suspension period
  • The court will require you to install an IID (ignition interlock device) on any vehicle’s that you drive
  • A $130 license reinstatement fee
  • Completion of a state approved alcohol or drug assessment
Top

This information is provided as a guideline only. Each case will vary.

Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go