Intoxalock menu
Call Intoxalock 24/7 Call us 24/7!
(888) 283-5899
Hablamos español
Call Intoxalock 24/7
Florida ignition interlock

Florida ignition interlock device laws

Approved by the State of Florida
Approved by the State of Florida:

If you have been convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device to regain driving privileges. Intoxalock promises to help guide you through the DUI process and will help you get back on the road as quickly as possible with the installation of an ignition interlock device.

Benefits of choosing Intoxalock

  • 24/7 bilingual customer service support
  • Customer approval rating of 4.5 stars (out of 5)
  • Affordable pricing on ignition interlock devices
  • Over 1,800 locations nationwide with convenient locations throughout Florida
  • The quickest way to legally regain driving privileges
State Laws

Additional drunk driving prevention resources:

Florida ignition interlock & drunk driving laws:

First Offense DUI

To apply for a hardship license after a first DUI offense, you will need the following prior:

  • DUI School completion.
  • Treatment, if referred, is required.

An ignition interlock device must be installed on all vehicles you own and drive if court ordered.*

*If your BrAC was .15 or above or if there was a minor in your vehicle, you will be required to install an interlock.

Top

Second Offense DUI

You may apply for a hardship license after serving one year from effective date of revocation. To apply for a hardship license after a second DUI offense, you will need the following prior:

  • DUI School completion.
  • Treatment, if referred, must be completed.
  • You must have a favorable recommendation to be eligible for a hardship license.
  • If given approval to reinstate early for hardship, you must present this approval to the driver license office.

An ignition interlock device must be installed on all vehicles you own and drive for at least 1 year.*

*If your BrAC was .15 or above or if there was a minor in your vehicle, you may be required to have your interlock for longer.

Top

Third Offense DUI

Third offense not within 10 years of second conviction will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation, unless the last 2 of the convictions fall within 5 years in which case a 5-year revocation will apply. You are not eligible for a hardship license, but must wait out the revocation period.

A third offense within 10 years of second conviction will result in a 10-year revocation. You must serve 2 years of this revocation period before being eligible to apply for a hardship license in the Administrative Reviews Office.

To apply for a hardship license after a third DUI offense, you will need the following prior:

  • DUI School completion.
  • Treatment, if referred, is required.
  • You must have a favorable recommendation to be eligible for a hardship license.
  • If given approval to reinstate early for hardship, you must present this approval to the driver license office.
  • You must remain in the Special Supervision Services Program for the duration of the revocation period to retain your hardship license.

An ignition interlock device must be installed on all vehicles you own and drive for at least 2 years.*

*If your BrAC was .15 or above or if there was a minor in your vehicle, you may be required to have your interlock for longer.

Top

Subsequent Offenses

You must serve 5 years of this revocation period before being eligible to apply for a hardship license in the Administrative Reviews Office where you live.

An ignition interlock device must be installed on all vehicles you own and drive for at least 5 years.

Top

License Reinstatement

Applies to all offenses, at the time of reinstatement, you must take the required examination and pay all state fees required.

  • You must provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 property damage liability.
  • Certification of liability insurance must be in the form of a FR-44 and continuously maintained for a period of 3 years from the reinstatement of the DUI Revocation.
  • A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations may be required.

If you wait to reinstate until after your revocation period ends, you will need the following:

  • Proof of enrollment or completion of DUI School.
  • Treatment, if referred, is required. The course must be completed within 90 days.
Top

*Installation will cover up to $100 after mail-in rebate. 6 month minimum lease required. Florida customers only. Not valid on voluntary leases. Cannot be combined with any other offer.

This information is provided as a guideline only. Each case will vary.

Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go