Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Delaware has both legal and administrative consequences for drunk driving. They risk having their license revoked for several months, though offenders who meet certain criteria may be able to regain their driving privileges through Delaware’s IID Diversion program. This program requires the offender to install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider like Intoxalock.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Intoxalock has locations throughout Delaware, making it easy to find one near you. You will need to return during the interlock term on a regular basis for device calibration, so keep this in mind when choosing your service center. At your appointment, technicians will install your device and provide you with the verification paperwork, and also show you how the device works.
In Delaware, the legal blood alcohol limit is .08 percent, but drivers with a chemical test result of .05 percent BAC and up are at risk for being arrested for DUI. The state implemented a mandatory IID program in 2015. Delaware’s interlock policy requires all first-time and subsequent DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device after waiting out their mandatory revocation period.
Delaware has financial and administrative penalties for drunk driving, which may increase for repeat offenses. The specific circumstances of the offense may also cause the penalties to increase.
Refusing a breath or chemical BAC test will not free an offender from consequences. Refusing to take the test can result in a license revocation of 12 months
Delaware allows first-time offenders to participate in an IID Diversion program. In order to qualify, offenders must:
Individuals not eligible for the Diversion program may still be able to regain driving privileges with an ignition interlock device. They must also meet the following criteria.
Intoxalock is an approved interlock provider in the state of Delaware. Our devices meet all criteria and will count towards a court-mandated IID requirement.
Ignition interlock devices are about the size of a cell phone, and they are installed into a vehicle’s ignition system. Once installed:
The interlock term will likely be clarified at sentencing, but guidelines are provided in the statute.
Why choose Intoxalock Delaware?
Offenders in Delaware are required to pay for the cost of installing their interlock device as well as the monthly lease costs. The devices cost around $70 to install and cost between $2.50 and $3.50 for the lease. There is financial assistance available for those who qualify. Typically, those who qualify also receive another form of public assistance, but check with the Delaware DMV or your attorney if you’re unsure you are eligible for financial assistance.
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DUI attorneys in Delaware, Intoxalock works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DUI attorney near you.