Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
In Connecticut, operating a vehicle under the influence (OUI) is a serious offense. This page will cover what you need to do to get back on the road if you’re convicted of OUI.
By clicking the button above, you consent to Intoxalock and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
OUI incidents in Connecticut do not require a BAC to be prosecuted, and offenders will be arrested and their vehicle towed at the driver’s expense.
Anyone caught for an alcohol-related driving offense is required to install an ignition interlock device CT (IID) if their BAC is .08 or more. For drivers 21 and under, an IID is required if a BAC test shows a blood alcohol content of .02 or more. Drivers can have their driving privileges restored by applying for a Special Operator's Permit and completing all requirements if they install an IID CT.
There are tiered penalties for OUI offenders in Connecticut. All drivers will have their car towed and will be taken to a police station if arrested for OUI.
If you fail or refuse to complete a chemical, urine, or breath test you risk penalties as well.
First test refusal
Second test refusal
Third test refusal
A special operator’s license allows drivers to travel to select locations like work, school, and medical treatments. You may be eligible for a Special Operator's permit if you qualify and complete all requirements. A special operator license holder doesn’t need to install the IID unless they have been required to do so, as the license is used for other types of offenders and circumstances.
Drivers can have their license restored after serving the suspension period and installing the interlock device CT and completing any other requirements.
CT ignition interlock law requires IID installation for many OUI penalties and requires an IID for a Special Operator's Permit.
An ignition interlock device CT, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
The court determines the length of time an interlock device must be installed, but typically it’s at least as long as the suspension period. In some cases, it may extend beyond that period.
Intoxalock has options that meet all state requirements, and you can choose the one that best suits your needs as well. They’re affordable and easy to use. The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles oversees the IID process. All failures and missed calibration appointments are reported to the DMV, and they are notified of installation too.
Drivers can install an ignition interlock device in a vehicle they don’t own, but must provide the owner's name at their installation appointment.
You don’t actually purchase an IID, you lease it. Intoxalock CT devices can be leased for $2.50-$3.50 a day, and you can easily manage payments through the app, online, or mail-in checks. There is also a device protection plan available for an additional $10 a month.
The plan protects you in the event your device is damaged from an accident or malfunctions. You will need to take your device to be calibrated regularly, so choose a convenient location.
The legal process for OUI can be overwhelming, especially if you’re unfamiliar with court procedures. An attorney can help protect your rights. Intoxalock partners with many experienced lawyers can represent your interests in an OUI case.
Help a Friend
State of Connecticut Website: