Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Alaska takes road safety seriously, and refers to drunk driving incidents as OUI, or operating under the influence. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit throughout the large state is .08 percent, and those found to violate this rule risk a variety of financial and administrative penalties. Penalties include license suspension, though some offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges by installing an interlock device and participating in Alaska’s IID program. This guide will go over how the IID process works in Alaska.
By clicking the button above, you consent to Intoxalock and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Intoxalock is the #1 interlock brand in the country, and has more locations than any other provider, with more than 4,500 installation centers nationwide. This should make it easy to find one to visit for installation. At the appointment, techs will ensure you understand how the device works before you leave. Our state specialists can help you find a location near you and set an appointment.
Offenders who violate the Alaska OUI laws will have their license suspended, even on the first offense. After serving a portion of their suspension period, eligible offenders who install an IID may be granted an interlock license. This will allow them to drive during the suspension period.
Penalties in Alaska increase depending on the severity of the offense, and if there are prior offenses on record.
If there are two prior convictions on record within 10 years, and a third is committed, the penalties increase significantly. A third OUI in 10 years can result in up to five years in jail, fines up to $50,000, and permanent license revocation. Some offenders can apply for an IID license to drive to and from work or alcohol abuse treatment.
Refusing a blood alcohol content or breathalyzer test does not remove consequences for an offender. Refusing a test can result in an immediate license suspension and additional possible penalties.
Qualified offenders may be able to get back on the road during their suspension period. After serving a specific portion, eligible offenders can apply for an interlock license, which will allow them to drive as long as they have an IID installed. Here is what offenders must do:
There may be additional criteria depending on the specifics of the alcohol-based driving offenses.
Alaska’s state government approves of Intoxalock devices, meaning they meet the requirements needed to get an IID license. Intoxalock devices are easy to use, with a one-button operating system and a simple blow pattern for testing. All test results are reported to the state monitoring authority.
An IID is a small device, sometimes called a car breathalyzer. They are installed into a vehicle’s system in such a way that the driver must pass a test before they can start their car. Here is how they work:
The statute typically determines how long the IID is required, but this can change depending on the circumstances of the offense and other factors.
In addition to fines, there are many other costs resulting from an OUI offense. This can include increased insurance costs and additional transportation costs. It also includes the cost of an interlock device, which offenders are responsible for. The devices typically cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Alaska?
Call in for pricing details and special offers within your state.
In court, an experienced OUI attorney can represent your interests to the judge. They can also help you outside of court with understanding your requirements and tasks. If you need an attorney, we partner with several who may be able to help.