Skip to Content
      Get Started
      Call Us
      Free Quote
      Locations
      Live Chat

      No waiting. Call now!

      There are currently 0 people waiting – agents are available until 11PM CST.
      CALL (844) 611-3710 No waiting. Call now!

      Get back on the road with the highest-rated interlock device.

      Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. We can help you through the process.

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.
      OR CALL (844) 611-3710
      Building columns of a courthouse

      Colorado Requirements

      Colorado allows some offenders who have committed an alcohol-related driving offense to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. This guide will explain penalties and how the interlock process works in Colorado.

      The CO Ignition Interlock Program

      Colorado has strict laws for alcohol-based driving offenses. The penalties include criminal penalties, like fines and jail time, as well as administrative penalties like license suspensions. The courts decide criminal penalties, and the department of revenue is responsible for the administrative penalties. Even first-time offenders risk having their license suspended for up to nine months. Eligible offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device approved by the state.
       

      What Happens if I Get a DUI in Colorado?

      Colorado considers anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more to be legally intoxicated, which means they are at risk for a DUI conviction. Even first-time offenders risk serious penalties in Colorado if they’re arrested for DUI, and so do first-time offenders convicted of driving while ability impaired (DWAI).

      First DUI Offense

      • Nine-month license suspension (none for DWAI)
      • 12 points added to motor vehicle record (eight for DWAI)
      • Five days to one year in jail (two to 180 days in jail for DWAI)
      • 48-96 hours of community service (24-48 hours of community service for DWAI)
      • $600 to $1,000 fine ($200 to $500 fine for DWAI)

      Second DUI Offense

      • 12-month license suspension
      • 12 points added to motor vehicle record (eight for DWAI)
      • 10 days to one year in jail
      • $600 to $1,500 fine
      • 48 hours to 120 hours of community service
      • May be required to install an IID

      Third DUI Offense

      • 24-month license suspension
      • 12 points added to motor vehicle record (eight for DWAI)
      • 60 days to one year in jail
      • $600 to $1,500 fine
      • 48 to 120 hours of community service
      • May be required to install an IID

      For those under 21, their license can be suspended for three months on a first offense, six months on a second offense, and a full year for a third offense. They also risk 10 to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $300, and up to 24 hours of community service.

      In some cases, the jail sentence may be lessened in favor of community service or attendance in a treatment program. Colorado drivers can apply to regain their driving privileges if they agree to install an ignition interlock device (IID). An interlock device prevents drivers from starting their car with alcohol in their system.

      In many cases, the offender may also be required to install an ignition interlock in Colorado from an approved provider like Intoxalock. The requirement could be a condition of parole or a requirement to regain driving privileges.

      In Colorado, penalties increase for repeat offenders, and if you commit a fourth DUI, the offense may be considered a felony as opposed to a misdemeanor. A felony carries harsher penalties and may impact employment opportunities. Colorado also adds 12 points to a driver’s license record for each DUI offense.

      How Do I Get a Restricted License in Colorado?

      Drivers in Colorado can regain partial driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. Restricted licenses typically allow offenders to drive to work, school, home, treatment, and other necessary appointments. To regain their driving privileges in Colorado, DUI offenders need to:

      • Offenders arrested after September 1, 2022 can apply for early reinstatement of their revoked license if they have an ignition interlock device installed, and may no longer have to wait out the one-month suspension period.
      • Install an ignition interlock from an approved provider
      • Pay all fines and complete all necessary jail time or public service
      • Contact Colorado Driver Services to verify eligibility at 303-205-5613
      • Repeat offenders may need to complete assigned treatment programs
      • Complete proper forms and applications for reinstatement

      Get a Free Quote! Call (844) 611-3710

      What is next? We can help you through the process. Give us a little information and we can help with next steps. 

      Solicitud de contacto en Espanol

      By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

      The Process: What to Expect

      1. Consult with Legal Counsel

      2. Get an Assessment

      3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance

      4. Schedule interlock install

      5. Regular monitoring

      6. Device removal

      Interlock Cost in Colorado

      Intoxalock IIDs cost about $2.50-$3.50 a day, and there are flexible payment options. Offenders are responsible for the cost of leasing the device. Colorado does offer financial assistance for qualified first offenders. For people who are declared indigent, the judicial district’s probation department can be required to pay the costs of continuous alcohol monitoring, using money in the offender services fund. If you are unsure if you qualify to have your services paid for, your attorney should be able to assist.
      Find an Install Location Near You

      Expert DUI Attorneys in Colorado

      Attorneys will represent your interests in court. An experienced DUI attorney can help guide you through the process. If you are unsure how to find an attorney, we partner with several in your area.

      Black & Graham, LLC

      102 S Tejon St, Suite 1110
      Colorado Springs, CO 80903

      The Law Office of Andrew Bryant

      805 S Cascade Ave
      Colorado Springs, CO 80903

      Antony J Di Cola

      400 Byers Ave
      Hot Sulphur Springs, CO 80451

      Gard Law Firm

      2541 Spruce St
      Boulder, CO 80302

      Colorado FAQs

      An ignition interlock device is a mobile breathalyzer that is installed in your vehicle to prevent driving while intoxicated. It is made up a handheld unit that is attached to your vehicles ignition system. You are required to blow into the mouthpiece to test your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC) before starting your car. For more information see our what is an interlock page.

      To view Colorado IID requirements, please visit the Colorado state page.

      For pricing information, see Colorado pricing

      Please visit the Colorado state page to learn what steps you need to take to get back on the road.

      To learn more about the steps to regaining your license, please visit our Colorado state page.

      To find the Colorado Intoxalock service center closest to you, please visit our Colorado Ignition interlock installation locations.

      The only way to confirm you are eligible to remove the device is to check with your monitoring authority.

      Contact your monitoring authority to ensure you are eligible for removal.

      Please visit the Colorado state page to learn about other DUI requirements.

      For pricing information, see the Colorado pricing page.

      To find a DUI attorney, please visit Intoxalock’s Colorado DUI attorney partners page.
      To find a treatment center, please visit Intoxalock’s Colorado DUI treatment center partners page.

      To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.

      To learn more about ignition interlock information, please visit our ignition interlock device page.

      Customers Have Great Things to Say

      Intoxalock man customer service representative on call
      “Intoxalock customer service reps answered all my questions, made the process worry free, and promptly responded to my email when I had additional questions. Install was quick and easy. Service employee showed me how to use the device and let me take all the time I needed. App download and account creation was simple.”
      Jack
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “What an amazing customer service representative! So lively and beyond friendly. Felt like I had a new best friend for the entire experience. She got me set up with everything, painlessly and quickly, and was very thorough in her explanations. Thank you for a making my experience a pleasant one.”
      Brittany
      Intoxalock woman customer service representative on call
      “The representative assisting me with my case has been amazing! She is very helpful and understanding. I have felt comfortable working with her since day one of me calling this place. She explains everything very clearly and follows up to see if you need further assistance. I definitely recommend this company and working with her!”
      Katherine

      Why Choose Intoxalock?

      Affordable
      Easy to Use
      Convenient
      24/7/365 Support
      Mobile App
      Legal Disclaimer

      The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.  Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. 


      Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. 
      Call Us Anytime at
      Call Us Anytime at (844) 611-3710
      Our state specialists are ready to answer your questions and get you through the process, one step at a time. 
      Intoxalock 30 Years
      AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
      MADD logo
      APPA logo
      BBB logo