DUI offenders in Nebraska risk a variety of penalties, both administrative and criminal. This guide will go over the IID process in Nebraska.
What Happens if I Get a DUI in Nebraska?
First DUI Offense
- Seven to 60 days in jail
- $500 in fines
- Six months license revocation (one year if BAC > .15 percent)
- May be required to install an interlock device to regain driving privileges (and wait 45 days if BAC > .15 percent)
Second DUI Offense
- 30 to 180 days in jail (90 days to one year if BAC >.15 percent)
- $500 fine (up to $1,000 if BAC > .15 percent)
- 18 months in jail (up to 15 years if BAC > .15 percent)
- May be required to install an interlock device and wait 45 days to regain driving privileges
Third DUI Offense
- 90 days to one year in jail (180 days to three years if BAC > .15 percent)
- $1,000 in fines
- Two to 15 years (Five to 15 years if BAC > .15 percent)
- May be required to install an interlock device
What Happens if I Fail to Complete or Refuse to Submit to a DUI Test in Nebraska?
The Board of Pardons and Pleas now allows individuals who have their license revoked for 15 years to apply for a reprieve, and have their license reinstated. As part of the process, offenders may be approved for a Restricted Permit that would require them to install an ignition interlock device. If they do install an IID, they would have to follow the standard process for doing so in Nebraska.
Like many states, Nebraska has an implied consent law. This means that if any driver is arrested on suspicion of DUI, they must undergo a BAC test. If the driver refuses the test, their license will be revoked for 180 days, up to 15 years if there are prior instances.
How Do I Regain Driving Privileges in Nebraska?
Eligible offenders can regain driving privileges if they meet certain criteria. Here is how offenders can get back on the road with an IID permit:
- Offender must waive their right to an Administrative License Revocation hearing
- Must be 18 years old
- Meet all criteria for license reinstatement for any other suspension or revocation requirements on record (if driver has previous non-alcohol offenses that resulted in revocation, for example)
- Wait out any required portion of the revocation period
- Complete and submit the IID permit application, or a court order indicating an IID is recommended
- Show a certificate of interlock device installation from an approved provider, like Intoxalock (this is provided by Intoxalock technicians at installation)
- Surrender your Nebraska driver’s license (unless it has expired)
There may be additional criteria depending on the circumstances of the offense.
Get a Free Quote! Call (833) 210-8426
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
The Process: What to Expect
1. Consult with Legal Counsel
2. Get an Assessment
3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance
4. Schedule interlock install
5. Regular monitoring
6. Device removal
Interlock Cost in Nebraska
Find an Install Location Near You
Expert DUI Attorneys in Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68512
Omaha, NE 68107
Pfeffer Law Offices
Omaha, NE 68102
Omaha, NE 68154
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer-based lock system that acts as a deterrent against driving while intoxicated by restricting ignition access.
Many convicted drunk drivers in Nebraska could have their driver’s license suspended as a penalty. Some drivers are able to regain driving privileges with a restricted driver’s license. In order to obtain a restricted driver’s license, the offender will have to install an ignition interlock device from a state-approved provider.
While costs can vary depending on the interlock provider, Intoxalock customers will pay a $71.99 to $100 deposit, and a $29.99 setup fee at the installation appointment. Monthly leasing costs total $49.99 to $113.99.
Select a provider from the list of state-approved interlock companies, and make your installation appointment.
You will need a Nebraska driver’s license. If you do not have one, contact the DMV to obtain one before installation. You will also need to provide the name of the vehicle owner if you’re not the registered owner.
You must confirm you’re eligible to remove the device with the monitoring authority. Once you have approval, you can make an appointment for removal at your interlock provider’s service center location.
Make sure you are eligible for removal, as the Nebraska DMV will be notified by the service center.
Yes, financial assistance is available for those deemed eligible by the state.
We work with many experienced DUI attorneys throughout the state, and our state specialists can help you find someone to work with if you are having trouble.
To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.
Customers Have Great Things to Say
Why Choose Intoxalock?
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.