Missouri treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) seriously. This guide will cover how the ignition interlock device (IID) process works in MO.
What Happens if I Get a DWI in Missouri?
First DWI Offense
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines up to $1,000
- License suspended for 30 days, plus an additional 60 days of license restrictions
- IID Missouri approves required to obtain Restricted Driver’s License
Second DWI Offense
- Up to one year in jail
- Fines up to $2,000
- License revoked or up to five years
- Install interlock approved by Missouri, for six months or more in order to regain driving privileges
Third DWI Offense
- Up to four years in jail
- Fines up to $10,000
- License revoked for up to 10 years
- Ignition interlock device required for at least six months, and to regain driving privileges
Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher is considered a DWI in Missouri, and offenders risk significant penalties. For a first offense, offenders can receive up to six months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. They may also have their license suspended for 30 days, plus an additional 60 days of license restrictions. Offenders who need to drive or for whom being without a vehicle is a hardship can apply for Restricted Driving Privileges, but they need to install an ignition interlock device from a trusted provider like Intoxalock. In some cases, an ignition interlock device may be required for longer than the suspension period.
What Happens if I Fail to Complete or Refuse to Submit to a DWI Test in Missouri?
You will not be exempt from penalties if you refuse to take a breathalyzer or blood alcohol content test. Those who refuse to take the test will have their license suspended for one year.
How Do I Get a Restricted Driving Privilege in Missouri?
This option is only available for first offenders. To qualify, offenders must install an ignition interlock device and meet other criteria, including:
- Complete and submit their request for an Immediate 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege form, within 15 days of being notified that driving privileges are suspended or revoked
- Install and file proof of installation for an IID approved by the state
- File proof of SR-22 insurance
- Complete all other court requirements
How Do I Get a Limited Driving Privilege in Missouri?
Repeat offenders are not eligible for the Restricted Driving Privilege option, but in some cases, they may apply for a Limited Driving Privilege. Sometimes this is referred to as a hardship license. There is no option for a limited commercial driver’s license. To qualify, offenders must either submit an application to the Department of Revenue or petition the court.
Offenders without a previous offense in the last five or 10 years can submit an application to the Department of Revenue, and they also need to:
- Complete the Application for Limited Driving Privilege Form
- Obtain and show proof of SR-22 insurance coverage
- If there is more than one offense or their license is currently revoked, offenders must provide proof of IID installation
- Must keep IID installed during the entire time they have the LDP
Offenders with an active five or 10-year denial on their record cannot simply apply for a Limited Driving Privilege - they must petition the circuit court in the county where they live or work. Other things the offender must do to qualify, include:
- Pay a filing fee and court costs associated with the petition
- Pay any legal fees if necessary
- Submit a form proving SR-22 insurance coverage
- If there is more than one alcohol offense or an active Chemical Revocation on the driver’s record, they must submit proof that an IID has been installed in any vehicle the offender operates.
If the court approves the petition, the offender will receive an Order Granting Limited Driving Privilege.
Get a Free Quote! Call (844) 328-1967
There was an error submitting your form. Please try again.
Thank you for your submission.
The Process: What to Expect
1. Consult with Legal Counsel
2. Get an Assessment
4. Schedule interlock install
3. Obtain proof of SR-22 insurance
5. Regular monitoring
6. Device removal
Interlock Cost in Missouri
Find an Install Location Near You
Expert DWI Attorneys in Missouri
Adam Woody Attorney at Law
Springfield, MO 65807
Kansas City, MO 64105
Broussard & Ruhlman, PC
Kansas City, MO 64119
The Simon Law Firm, P.C.
Saint Louis, MO 63101
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that is installed in your vehicle to prevent drinking and driving. It is made up of a mouthpiece, a handheld unit and a cord that attaches to your vehicle’s ignition system. You are required to blow into the mouthpiece to test your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC) before starting your car. For more information see our what is an interlock page.
To find the Missouri Intoxalock service center closest to you, please visit our Missouri ignition interlock installation locations page.
The only way to confirm you are eligible to remove the device is to check with your monitoring authority.
Contact your monitoring authority to ensure you are eligible for removal.
To see how an ignition interlock device works, visit our ignition interlock page and watch our video demonstrating how to use the device.
Customers Have Great Things to Say
Why Choose Intoxalock?
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information.
Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation.