Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Tennessee uses criminal and administrative penalties to punish offenders who are convicted of DUI. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level in Tennessee is .08 percent, so any offender found with that level or above risks a conviction and penalties that include their driver’s license being revoked for a year. Some drivers may be eligible to regain their driving privileges with a restricted license if they install an ignition interlock device (IID). This guide will explain the interlock process in Tennessee.
By clicking the button above, you consent to Intoxalock and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
Tennessee offers the option of getting a restricted license to offenders if they install an ignition interlock device. This allows offenders to drive as long as they use the device, preventing them from offending again.
Tennessee has financial and administrative penalties for drunk driving. The state also increases penalties if there are certain circumstances, including a minor in the car or a BAC more than twice the legal limit (specifically, .2 or higher).
There may be additional penalties and fines depending on the specific circumstances of the incident
Refusing to take a breathalyzer test does not absolve offenders from penalties. This offense carries its own penalties.
Taking the test is generally a better option for all, especially for repeat offenders. People stopped for suspicion of DUI a second time who refuse the test a second time in five years may have driving privileges revoked for three years.
Tennessee allows offenders to get back on the road as long as they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. They also must meet other criteria, including:
There may be limitations placed on the restricted license depending on the circumstances of the incident, but the court can clarify.
As of January 1, 2023, Tennessee will adopt compliance restrictions to their interlock process. Anyone who misses a calibration appointment, removes the device, or has the device removed risks having their interlock term lengthened. Specifically, they will be required to reinstall the device (if removed) and serve a full 365 day interlock term from the day of reinstallation.
Tennessee requires ignition interlock devices as a condition of regaining driving privileges. The devices keep the offender and the public safe because:
Offenders cover the cost of leasing a device in Tennessee, though the state does offer financial aid to eligible offenders. To get financial aid, you must apply and be approved. Typically, the cost of an IID is between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Tennesse?
*Save $20 off your first month of Intoxalock. This cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
Attorneys with DUI experience can help represent your interest in court. If you’re having trouble finding an attorney, we partner with several in Tennessee who may be able to help.