Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in North Dakota is .08 percent. Drivers found to be at or above that limit risk a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI). North Dakota has a variety of penalties for DUI, including license suspension, even for first-time offenders. Some may be able to get a temporary restricted license if they agree to install an ignition interlock device and meet other criteria. This guide will explain how the interlock process works in North Dakota.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Intoxalock is the #1 interlock brand in the country. There are more Intoxalock locations than any other provider, 5,000 in total. At your installation appointment, the installation technician will show you how the device works and provide proof of installation. You will need to return regularly for calibration as well.
North Dakota, like many states, has a tiered penalty system for DUI offenses. Penalties may increase depending on the offender’s BAC level and if there are prior offenses in the past seven years.
These penalties are what DUI offenders are facing in North Dakota if convicted of DUI.
Penalties may increase if there are specific circumstances, like a minor being present in the car. Additional penalties apply if there is damage, injury, or death caused by the incident, or if the offender’s BAC was excessively high.
Penalties still apply to drivers who refuse the test, including license revocation for at least one year on a first offense and refusal to test. The penalties increase if there is a second offense and refusal and so on.
Some offenders may be able to get back on the road if they install an interlock device. Drivers are responsible for the cost of the IID. Temporary restricted licenses are granted to eligible drivers who meet the following criteria:
Additional criteria may be assigned based on the specifics of the incident and the driver’s previous record.
Intoxalock devices are approved in North Dakota. The devices are easy to use. Intoxalock IIDs feature a one-button operating system and a blow-inhale-blow breath pattern. All devices report testing data to the state monitoring authority in North Dakota.
Ignition interlock devices are sometimes called car breathalyzers. They’re small and wired into the car’s system to require the driver to test before they can start the vehicle.
This is determined by statute but can change depending on the previous offenses and driving record of the offender.
North Dakota requires offenders to cover the cost of their interlock device. The devices typically cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. Intoxalock offers flexible payment options.
Why choose Intoxalock North Dakota?
Call in for pricing details and special offers within your state.
The court process for DUI can be overwhelming for those unfamiliar with the legal process. An experienced attorney can help represent you in court and guide you through the process. We partner with several in the state if you need assistance finding an attorney.