Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Utah is unique among all 50 states because the state has a lower blood alcohol content (BAC) threshold than any other state. While other states consider .08 percent to be the legal threshold for DUI, in Utah the legal BAC limit is .05 percent. In accordance with their strict BAC policies, the state also hands down strict administrative, legal, and financial penalties following a DUI incident. Some drivers may be able to regain their driving privileges if they agree to install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
When you arrive for your appointment, the technician will install your device. Then, they will show you how it works so you understand before driving off. They can also provide paperwork showing proof of installation if needed.
Utah suspends licenses for some time after first offenses, but a new program launched November 8, 2021 that may impact first-time offenders. Drivers who are 21 or older, arrested for a first-time DUI can now petition the Division to reinstate their driving privileges early if they install an interlock device and complete an Impaired Driving Assessment (IDA) that shows a low risk of reoffending.
To qualify, offenders must meet other criteria including:
Utah hands down serious penalties for drunk driving, in addition to having the lowest legal BAC limit of any state. There are administrative, financial, and legal penalties for offenders and they increase if the driver has a previous offense on record.
Penalties may increase depending on the BAC level of the driver or if injuries, property damage, or death occurred. The judge also has discretion to lengthen an interlock term or mandate an interlock if they choose.
Refusing to take a BAC test in Utah will not get you out of the consequences for your actions. If an offender refuses to take a test, they can have their license suspended for up to 18 months on a first offense. Repeat offenders may have their license suspended for three years, and those under 21 risk a suspension of 18 months or until they turn 21.
Utah allows eligible offenders to get an alcohol or drug-related limited license if they meet certain criteria. This license allows them to drive during the suspension period, if they fulfill requirements. The criteria include:
The court may require additional criteria depending on the specifics of the incident.
Intoxalock is the #1 interlock brand in the country, and Utah approves of all Intoxalock devices. The devices meet state criteria, and Intoxalock has more locations than any other provider. Devices are available, so technicians can help with your installation as soon as you’re ready.
An ignition interlock device is often referred to as a car breathalyzer. The devices are installed and hooked up to the ignition. Once installed, an IID:
Typically, this is determined by law, though Utah judges also have some discretion to increase the length of the IID period.
Offenders cover the cost for their own device, but Utah does offer financial assistance to offenders who qualify. The typical cost for the device is between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Utah?
*Save $20 off your first month of Intoxalock. This cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An experienced DUI attorney can help represent your interests in court. They can guide you through the process and make sure you understand what is happening. If you are in need of legal help, we partner with several in the state that may be able to help.