Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
In Pennsylvania, a DUI conviction can spell hardship for many drivers. In addition to financial penalties and other requirements, many have their license suspended. However, under the relatively new PA ignition interlock law, Pennsylvania does allow some drivers to obtain an Occupational Limited License after they serve 60 days of their suspension if they install an ignition interlock device.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
PA DUI laws call for a one-year driver’s license suspension for repeat DUI offenders, and the state also requires those drivers to install an ignition interlock PA approves. The state takes a tiered approach to DUI offenses, with progressively larger penalties for repeat offenders
First-time offenders who need to drive but have had their license suspended can apply for an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after 60 days of their suspension is served. Repeat offenders can also apply but must wait 12 months into the suspension period. To be granted an OLL, they must install an ignition interlock device.
Ignition interlock devices require drivers to pass a Breath Alcohol Content test before they can start their car. A passing result is anything below .025 percent BrAC, or .020 for anyone under 21. Any failed results will be reported to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation PennDOT. Drivers are responsible for the cost of the device, which can vary depending on the provider. Intoxalock devices cost between $2.50-$3.50 per day. Drivers are responsible for their device and will need to return for calibration 30 days after installation, and every 60 days afterward during the course of the lease.
In Pennsylvania, there are tiered penalties for each offense. This means that as the number of convictions increases, so do the financial and other penalties for DUI. They include:
Suspensions are typically applied to drivers whose blood alcohol content is more than .10 percent. Here is how those offenders are treated:
PA DUI laws say that drivers who refuse to take a field sobriety or breathalyzer test in PA risk being arrested and other additional penalties like increased license suspension on top of DUI fines.
Drivers convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania can apply for an OLL, which allows them to drive to and from work and other necessary places such as school, the doctor’s office, and treatment programs. Eligible drivers can apply, but they need to meet the following criteria:
If you’re unsure about the process, an Intoxalock state specialist can help guide you through the PA interlock process.
In many cases, drivers will be ordered by the court to install an ignition interlock device as part of their sentence or treatment. Some courts require it if a driver wishes to get an Occupational Limited License. Drivers can also get a device installed voluntarily as a sobriety aid if they wish. Many parents of teens have them installed on their teen’s car to prevent young adults in their family from driving under the influence.
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a portable device drivers can use to help maintain sobriety. In essence, an IID:
Pennsylvania has standard penalties for convictions, but the court may add on additional time to an IID period or assign a longer period up front. Generally, the time period anyone must have an IID is one year, but may be extended.
Intoxalock is an approved provider and has the most locations of any provider in Pennsylvania. The court order will share any specifications the device must have, such as a camera feature. A state specialist can help you find the location closest to you.
Any driver sentenced or required to install a PA interlock device is responsible for the cost. Devices are leased, not purchased outright. Typically:
Technicians who install ignition interlock devices must be certified. This benefits you as the customer, because they are knowledgeable about the device and will be able to walk you through how to use it and maintain it. There are many Intoxalock locations in Pennsylvania, so you can find one that is convenient for you. In order to install the device, drivers should make sure that they have the following in place:
DUI attorneys work with DUI offenders daily, so they are able to help guide you through the process and ensure your rights are protected. Intoxalock partners with many who can help.
Help a Friend
State of Pennsylvania Website
Recommended Reading in Pennsylvania