Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Missouri locations are no longer accepting new interlock customers.
Missouri treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) seriously. Anyone who is caught operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content above the legal limit risks fines, possible jail time, and license suspension. The legal limit in Missouri is .08 percent. Some offenders may be able to get a Restricted Driver's License if they install an interlock device. This guide will cover how the ignition interlock device (IID) process works in MO.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Intoxalock has more installation locations than any other provider. Service center technicians will be able to show you how the device works. You will need to return to the location every 30 days for device calibration, so choose one close by and convenient. Find the perfect Missouri Intoxalock location for you.
Missouri requires convicted DWI offenders to obtain an ignition interlock device from a state-approved provider to regain driving privileges. In some cases, the offender may need to keep the IID for longer than the license suspension period. The state will provide a list of approved providers - Intoxalock is an approved provider in Missouri.
Missouri employs a variety of administrative and financial penalties to DWI offenders. The penalties increase if there is a prior offense, or depending on the circumstances of the incident. For example, if a minor is in the car at the time of the offense, the penalties may increase.
Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher is considered a DWI in Missouri, and offenders risk significant penalties. For a first offense, offenders can receive up to six months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. They may also have their license suspended for 30 days, plus an additional 60 days of license restrictions. Offenders who need to drive or for whom being without a vehicle is a hardship can apply for Restricted Driving Privileges, but they need to install an ignition interlock device from a trusted provider like Intoxalock. In some cases, an ignition interlock device may be required for longer than the suspension period.
You will not be exempt from penalties if you refuse to take a breathalyzer or blood alcohol content test. Those who refuse to take the test will have their license suspended for one year.
This option is only available for first offenders. To qualify, offenders must install an ignition interlock device and meet other criteria, including:
Repeat offenders are not eligible for the Restricted Driving Privilege option, but in some cases, they may apply for a Limited Driving Privilege. Sometimes this is referred to as a hardship license. There is no option for a limited commercial driver’s license. To qualify, offenders must either submit an application to the Department of Revenue or petition the court.
Offenders without a previous offense in the last five or 10 years can submit an application to the Department of Revenue, and they also need to:
Offenders with an active five or 10-year denial on their record cannot simply apply for a Limited Driving Privilege - they must petition the circuit court in the county where they live or work. Other things the offender must do to qualify, include:
If the court approves the petition, the offender will receive an Order Granting Limited Driving Privilege.
MO ignition interlock law requires IID installation for many DWI penalties, and in some situations requires the ignition interlock to be equipped with a camera as well. The court or statute will dictate what type of IID is required.
An ignition interlock device MO, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
This is determined by statute, and the court may require it for longer than initially planned. Typically, the IID must be used during the entire limited driving privilege period.
Intoxalock has more locations than any other provider in Missouri, so it should be easy for you to find a shop near you to have your device installed. The Missouri Department of Transportation must approve the device that is installed, and they receive all reports of passes and failures for offenders with devices installed.
Missouri offenders are responsible for the cost of their own ignition interlock device. Typically, the devices are leased as opposed to purchased outright. The device costs approximately $2.50 to $3.50 per day to lease.
Why choose Intoxalock Missouri?
*Save $20 off your first month of Intoxalock. This cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
It can be daunting to face court proceedings for a DWI. An attorney can guide you and can represent your best interests in a DWI case. Intoxalock partners with many in your area who can help.