Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
In Maine, alcohol-based driving offenses are referred to as Operating Under the Influence (OUI). The legal BAC limit in Maine is .08 percent, as it is in most states. Anyone caught driving with a BAC at or greater than .08 percent risks a variety of penalties. The penalties include immediate license suspension. Some offenders can regain their driving privileges sooner if they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Intoxalock is the #1 interlock device in the country and has more than 5,000 installation locations nationwide. When you visit your installation location, the techs will install the device and help you understand how it works. They will also provide a certificate of installation, showing you’ve had the device installed by an approved provider.
In Maine, offenders found to have a BAC at or above .08 percent will have their license suspended immediately. This means they won’t be able to drive until after their court date, and that is not even a certainty. Some offenders may be able to get their driving privileges back sooner if they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider.
Maine has a variety of penalties for OUI, and they increase if there are prior offenses on record or aggravating circumstances.
The court may order additional treatment or community services depending on the circumstances of the offense.
Declining to take a blood alcohol content (BAC) test is not a means to avoid a penalty for a drunk driving test. There are penalties for refusing to take the test.
Qualified offenders in Maine can get back on the road if they install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. Before they can get a restricted license, the offenders must also serve a portion of their suspension. The restricted license will be conditional for at least one year after the suspension period has ended.
Here is a checklist for Maine residents who wish to get a restricted license:
If there are other criteria, the court should clarify what other tasks you need to complete.
Intoxalock devices are approved by the Maine state government. This means that the devices meet the criteria for regaining driving privileges. Intoxalock devices are easy to use, with a simple operating system and breathing pattern. This makes it easier to test before each drive.
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is often called a car breathalyzer. The devices exist to prevent drunk driving offenses. Here’s how:
This is typically listed in the statute. The length of time an IID is required may change depending on a variety of factors including aggravating circumstances.
Offenders in Maine are required to pay for their own interlock devices. The devices are leased from the approved provider, and the offender pays the provider. Typically, the devices are between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Maine?
*Take $20 off your first month's payment. This cannot be combined with any other offer. This is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An experienced attorney can help you through the process. They will represent your interests in court and explain things to you if you don’t understand. Intoxalock partners with several attorneys in Maine if you are looking for someone to represent you.