Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Illinois has strict laws when it comes to DUI offenses. First-time offenders risk having their driving privileges revoked for a full year, and two years if they’re under 21. Penalties increase if they have a blood alcohol content of .16 or greater during the offense, which is twice the legal limit in Illinois (.08 percent). Some drivers are able to regain driving privileges if they install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID), also known as an ignition interlock device or IID. This guide will share how the process works.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
Illinois allows some offenders to regain driving privileges by getting a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). They’re eligible to get this if they install an IID with a camera, and meet other criteria set by the court or monitoring authority.
If you’re convicted of a DUI offense in Illinois, you risk a variety of financial and administrative penalties. These penalties may increase depending on the circumstances of the incident.
If the driver has a child under 16 in the car, the offense is considered a felony and the penalties are significantly higher. They include a mandatory fine of $1,000, up to six months in prison, and 25 days of community service benefiting children, along with any other criminal or administrative penalties.
If the offense occurred while the offender had a child under 16 in the vehicle, it is then treated as a felony. If the child was injured in the crash, it’s a Class 2 felony (as opposed to Class 4). If a child is present, even if they are not injured, there is a mandatory fine of $5,000, six months in prison, plus 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children.
If the offense was committed with a child in the car, there is a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children. Other administrative penalties will also apply.
An adult who refuses to take a blood alcohol content test or chemical test may have their license suspended for up to 12 months. People caught a second time who refuse the test a second time in five years may have driving privileges revoked for three years.
Drivers who need a car to get to and from work, school, or other obligations may be hit especially hard by having their privileges revoked. However, Illinois has an option for these drivers called a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP), which allows them to get a restricted driver’s permit. In order to qualify, drivers must:
Illinois requires ignition interlock devices for all DUI offenders who wish to regain driving privileges.
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
Typically, drivers must keep the IID installed for the length of their suspension period, and in some cases beyond. Illinois DMV interlock laws say that drivers must have their device calibrated every 60 days following installation.
Illinois requires offenders to cover the cost of their ignition interlock device, although the state does provide financial assistance for those who qualify. Eligibility is determined by the Secretary of State. The cost of an ignition interlock device is typically between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. There are flexible payment options and you can pay online or via the app.
Why choose Intoxalock Illinois?
*Get $20 off your first month's payment with Intoxalock. This special cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases. All clients must have an RDP to be eligible for this offer.
An attorney will ensure you are represented in court, and they can help you navigate the judicial process. We partner with several in your area.