The AZ Ignition Interlock Program
In Arizona, anyone 21 and over who is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or over .08 percent risks being charged with a DUI. First, second, and third-time offenders are given license suspensions of various lengths and are required to install an ignition interlock device Arizona approves.
What happens if I get a DUI in Arizona?
AZ DUI laws feature multiple penalties for a DUI in Arizona. They include license suspension and other penalties. Some of them are financial, and others require court-ordered community service. Here are the current penalties for an AZ DUI:
- 24 hours to 10 days in jail
- 90 days to one-year license suspension
- Fines and assessments of at least $1,250
- Ignition interlock device that meets Arizona state criteria if the DUI was from alcohol or by court order for other intoxicants. Offenders can request a “Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License,” or SIIRDL, that allows them to drive while their license is suspended.
- Offender waives right to a hearing contesting their license suspension if a SIIRDL is granted
- If the offender’s SIIRDL request is granted prior to sentencing, they will receive credit for the time their IID has already been installed and it will count towards sentencing requirements
- May be ordered to perform community restitution
- 30-90 days in jail
- One-year license revocation
- Fines and assessments of at least $3,000
- Ignition interlock device Arizona approves required for Restricted License
- Minimum of four months in jail
- Fines and assessments of at least $3,750
- Have their license revoked for one year
- Ignition interlock that meets state criteria is required for Restricted License
In addition to these penalties, AZ DUI laws state that an offender may need to enroll in additional addiction treatment or educational programs. There is a list of information and approved facilities available through ADOT if you need to attend a course. The court may also mandate a specific course, so check for information from them as well.
The penalties for an “extreme DUI,” which applies to people with alcohol concentrations of 0.15 or higher, are higher .
What happens if I fail to complete or refuse to submit to a DUI test in Arizona?
If you refuse to complete a test, your license can be revoked for one to two years , and an IID can be required for the revocation period. Additionally, you may be required to undergo drug and alcohol screening before your driver’s license is reinstated.
How do I get a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver License (SIIRDL) in Arizona?
As of January 1, 2023, Arizona allows offenders to request a SIIRDL in lieu of a driving privileges suspension. This means that if your license is suspended but you need to drive, you can do so if you install an IID and are granted a SIIRDL. To qualify for a SIIRDL, offenders:
- Must have completed drug or alcohol screening that was ordered
- If the SIIRDL is granted, the offender waives their right to a hearing contesting their license suspension
- To obtain the SIIRDL, offender must install an interlock device that meets Arizona state criteria
- Should meet all other criteria required by law, such as paying all fines, license fees, obtaining necessary and completing any mandates from the court
The SIIRDL is designed to help drivers regain their driving privileges. Other offenders may be eligible for a Restricted License, which limits where they can drive to approved locations like school, work, medical appointments and other necessary spots.
To obtain a Restricted License, offenders should:
- Contact the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) online or by phone to confirm eligibility
- Install a certified Arizona ignition interlock device and provide verification of installation to the MVD
- Comply with any required mandatory alcohol treatment programs and submit proof of completion to the MVD
- Submit an SR-22 Certificate of Automobile Liability insurance
- Pay any applicable fees (no personal checks)
Intoxalock AZ Interlock Devices
Ignition interlock devices are required by law in Arizona. In many cases the length of time an offender must have the device it’s determined by statute, but the court can add on additional time to the device period or require it if not mandated by the statute. Drivers can also get one voluntarily if they need assistance in maintaining sobriety.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
- Prevents you from starting your car if you’ve been drinking
- Requires you to re-test your Breath Alcohol Content (BrAC) during trips to ensure continued sobriety
How long is an AZ interlock device required?
The statute will determine how long you need to use an IID, but the court can extend the time. The only way to confirm you are eligible to remove the device is to check with your monitoring authority.
- 1st offense: Up to 24 months, depending on conviction
- 2nd offense: 12 to 24 months, depending on conviction
Ignition Interlock Cost in Arizona
If your sentence includes mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, this means you will be paying for it yourself. IIDs are leased, not purchased outright. All ignition interlock costs must be covered by the driver.
How much does an IID cost?
- Prices vary depending on your monitoring needs, but typically they cost between $2 and $3 a day.
- Intoxalock also offers DPP+, a protection plan for your device in case of damage, for $10 a month.
- A state specialist can help confirm pricing options for you.