Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Rhode Island calls drunk driving offenses DWI or driving while intoxicated. The term refers to offenders who are driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher (.04 percent for commercial drivers). The term also refers to drivers who are found to be driving while under the influence of prescription drugs, marijuana, and alcohol.
The various penalties include license suspension, even for first-time offenders. Some offenders can regain driving privileges sooner if they agree to install an ignition interlock device.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Not only is Intoxalock the #1 interlock brand in the United States, but we also have more locations than any other provider. There are more than 5,000 installation centers nationwide, making it easy to find one near you. When you visit your installation center, technicians will install your device and show you how it works before you leave. You will also be provided a certificate of installation to present to the DMV.
In Rhode Island, some offenders are eligible to receive a hardship license and regain driving privileges. To qualify, offenders must install an ignition interlock device from an approved provider. Test failures, tampering attempts, and other data are reported to the state monitoring authority while the device is installed.
Rhode Island has a variety of penalties for DWI offenders. They may increase depending on the circumstances of the incident, or if there are previous offenses on record.
There are increased penalties for offenders who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15, almost twice the legal BAC limit of .08 percent. The increased penalties include one to five years in jail, plus up to $5,000 in fines, along with a license suspension of up to three years.
Offenders who refuse the test are not immune from consequences. The consequences include immediate license suspension, among other things.
Rhode Island requires offenders to complete a certain portion of their full suspension period before they are able to obtain a hardship license. The time they must serve is typically between 40 and 45 days. Offenders are still required to install an IID to get their license.
They must also:
Depending on the circumstances, there may be additional criteria and requirements to fulfill.
Intoxalock interlock devices are approved throughout Rhode Island. The devices are simple to use, featuring a one-button operating system. The reliability of the devices and 24/7 customer support have helped make Intoxalock the #1 interlock brand in the United States.
Ignition interlock devices are sometimes referred to as car breathalyzers. The devices prevent drunk driving because:
This is typically determined by statute, although the IID period may be increased, depending on the specifics of the drunk driving offense.
The cost of the device is intended to be paid by the offender. The devices are leased, not purchased outright, and Intoxalock offers flexible payment options. The devices typically cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day.
Why choose Intoxalock Rhode Island?
*Save $20 off your first month of Intoxalock. This cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An experienced attorney can ensure your interests are represented in court. We have several partners throughout the state if you are having trouble finding representation.