Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Massachusetts has a variety of penalties for drunk driving offenders. The legal term in the state is OUI or operating under the influence. A driver is considered to be OUI if their blood alcohol content is at or above .08 percent. On a first offense, drivers can receive jail time, community service, and financial penalties. They could also have their license suspended for up to a year, plus a year of probation. Some may be able to regain their driving privileges during the suspension period if they install an ignition interlock device. Some offenders may also be able to get their license reinstated faster if they attend an alcohol education program.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Find a location near you, and make sure it is convenient to go to as you will need to return for calibration on a regular basis. The technicians will install your interlock device and show you how it works, and provide you with proof of installation if needed.
Massachusetts allows some offenders to get back on the road during their license suspension period if they install an ignition interlock device. The results of all testing are sent to the state’s monitoring authority. In order to participate in the Massachusetts IID program, the device must be installed by a state-approved provider.
Massachusetts has a variety of penalties for OUI, including financial penalties and possible jail time. The penalties increase depending on the circumstances of the offense, or if there has been a previous offense.
Penalties may increase if there are damages or injuries caused by the drunk driving incident. Some drivers may be able to avoid certain penalties if they agree to undergo alcohol education or treatment.
Massachusetts has an implied consent law. This means that under the law, it is considered that anyone who is driving has tacitly agreed to have their blood or breath tested for alcohol if stopped by law enforcement. Refusing a test does not mean you are free from consequences. Drivers who refuse a test can still get penalized. First offenders will have their license suspended for 180 days, second offenders for three years, and third offenders for five years.
Some offenders are able to get driving privileges back during the suspension period if they install a state-approved interlock device. They must meet additional criteria, including:
Some offenders may have additional criteria to meet. It depends on the circumstances of the drunk driving offense.
Intoxalock has more locations than any other interlock provider, which is one reason why we’re the #1 interlock brand in the country. You can easily find a location near you. Intoxalock devices are fully approved by the state of Massachusetts, and our locations are ready to help install your device.
Ignition interlock devices help prevent drunk driving incidents. They are sometimes referred to as car breathalyzers. Here is how they work:
This can vary depending on the circumstances of the offense.
Offenders must pay for their own interlock device. The devices are leased, not purchased outright, and cost between $2.50 and $3.50 per day. Financial assistance is available for qualified individuals.
Why choose Intoxalock Massachusetts?
*Receive your 1st Payment for free when you sign up for a minimum lease of 6 months. This offer is only vaild for Massachusetts customers and cannot be combined with any other offer. Ths is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An OUI attorney will help guide you through the court process. They will use their expertise to represent your best interests in court. If you are looking for an attorney, we partner with several in the area.