Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Louisiana is a popular vacation spot, especially for big parties like Mardi Gras. But there are still strict laws in place to deter people from drinking and driving. Louisiana has strict DWI laws, and they’ve grown stricter over the years. In 2015, suspension periods were lengthened for most offenses.
There are financial and administrative penalties. Some offenders may be eligible to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device approved by the state.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Our installation technicians will install your device during your appointment. They will also show you how the device works before you leave. The shop can also provide paperwork to prove installation if needed.
Louisiana suspends driver’s licenses after all DWI offenses, but some offenders can get back on the road during their suspension period. To do so, they’re required to install an ignition interlock device and meet a variety of other criteria.
DWI offenses are treated very seriously in Louisiana. These laws are in place to hopefully deter people from drinking and driving. If there are injuries or property damages caused by the incident, there may be additional penalties for the offender.
A three-time DWI offender will have their license suspended for at least three years, and more if their BAC is over .20 percent. In addition, there are financial penalties and other requirements like treatment programs and potential community service. Drivers are required to install an IID from an approved provider like Intoxalock. They must present proof of installation before acquiring a restricted license.
Louisiana still has consequences for offenders who refuse to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test when stopped for suspected DWI. If a driver refuses the test, they can be penalized with a one-year license suspension, and their license will be immediately seized. If the driver has a past refusal within 10 years, their license will be suspended for two years and they will be required to have an IID for six months. Offenders are eligible to get a hardship license if they install an ignition interlock device.
Some offenders may be eligible to regain their driving privileges if they agree to install an ignition interlock device. Drivers can then apply for a hardship license. This will allow them to drive to approved places such as work, school, medical appointments, and scheduled treatment. In order to get a restricted license, drivers must:
The court may require additional criteria depending on the specifics of the incident.
Intoxalock is an approved state provider in Louisiana and our devices meet all criteria. We can also help you get back on the road fast.
Ignition interlock devices are also known as car breathalyzers. The devices are installed and connected to your starter to require a breath test before driving. The devices:
This is typically outlined in the statute, though the court may add on additional time depending on the circumstances of the drunk driving incident.
Intoxalock has more than 5,000 locations nationwide. You can find a location within 15 minutes easily, and we can help.
The offender is responsible for the cost of their own interlock device. Devices cost between $2.50 and $3.50. Intoxalock offers flexible payment options.
Why choose Intoxalock Louisiana?
*Save $25 off of your first month's payment. A 6-month minimum lease is required. This value is for Louisiana customers only. This deal cannot be combined with any other offer and is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An attorney’s job is to represent your interests in court. If you are having trouble understanding your obligations, they can help. If you are looking for an attorney, we partner with several who can assist.