Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
The South Carolina ignition interlock device process can be a bit daunting at first, but Intoxalock is here to help. This guide will cover what to do to regain your driving privileges with an IID in South Carolina.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
In South Carolina, anyone 21 and over who is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08 percent risks being charged with DUI. First, second, and third-time offenders are given license suspensions of various lengths and are required to install an ignition interlock device
There are multiple penalties for DUI offenses in South Carolina, including financial penalties and administrative penalties. Some offenders may be eligible for a restricted license if they install an ignition interlock device.
For a fourth offense, offenders can receive imprisonment for up to five years and permanent revocation of their driver’s license.
For any offense, there may be additional penalties given by the court depending on the specifics of the incident.
Refusing to take the test does not mean you escape any consequences. Anyone who refuses a test may still be penalized, including fines and a license suspension.
South Carolina allows some offenders to get a limited driver’s license called a route restricted license. Per South Carolina interlock laws, an IID is required to qualify for this restricted license.
The license lets offenders drive to approved locations, often work, school, medical appointments, and similar locations.
South Carolina residents, here’s your checklist to get a route restricted license:
The devices are required in certain cases by law, but courts may decide to extend the length of the device term or require a device. Some courts may also require treatment or other alcohol diversion programs.
An IID is a small device installed in your vehicle that:
South Carolina approves the Intoxalock Legacy device. This IID is the most affordable ignition interlock device model. The device operates on fuel cell technology which ensures the highest accuracy in the industry.
Per South Carolina ignition interlock laws, offenders are responsible for the cost of their ignition interlock. The state does offer financial assistance for eligible offenders. As of June 2021, offenders must fill out the Affidavit of Indigency to apply and must reapply every 90 days. Check with your legal representative or state monitoring authority if you need financial assistance, as they will have the most up-to-date information.
Why choose Intoxalock South Carolina?
Call in for pricing details and special offers within your state.
Addiction counseling may be mandated after a drunk driving offense, or an offender may choose to pursue treatment voluntarily. If sobriety is your goal, Intoxalock partners with many treatment centers can help.