Skip to Content
woman sitting with computer researching offers

Save Up to $100 on Installation* in Minnesota

A blue tinted image of a satelite view of a city's roads as a map.

Need an Ignition Interlock Installed? 888-655-4821

We Can Help!

By clicking the button, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock, DUI.org, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

Intoxalock is the leading ignition interlock provider in Minnesota

What is an ignition interlock device?

An ignition interlock device (or IID) is basically a breathalyzer that is installed into a vehicle for the purpose of preventing drunk driving. It requires the driver to submit a breath sample before being able to start the car and then requires periodic samples while driving to ensure that no alcohol has been consumed while the vehicle is in operation.

How Do I Know if I Need One?

The state of Minnesota has minimum time requirements for all DWI offenders. Additional rules or obligations may be required of an offender depending on the specific county in which the offense occurred. Most DWI offenders in Minnesota receive documentation specifying that they need to get an IID installed in their vehicle.

If a DWI offender does not get the ignition interlock device installed as required by the court or any other state authority, they could face jail time as a result.

How Much Will My Offense Cost?

Depending on the type of offense, the cost to satisfy the obligation to the state of Minnesota can vary greatly.

Ignition Interlock Device Costs – This is the more affordable aspect of the DWI process, with a device costing as little as $2.15 a day. Call to get the best available prices and special offers in Minnesota.

Other DUI Costs – The average cost for a DWI in Minnesota can range anywhere from $5,000 to $25,000 or even more after fines, attorney fees, other costs, and depending on the county in which the offense occurred.

What Steps Do I Need to Take?

  1. Pass the DWI knowledge test and pay a $680 reinstatement fee and apply for a new Class D driver's license. Then sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement. Other forms needed vary by offender.
    For Cancelled Drivers: Participation Agreement, Ignition Interlock Limited License, Last use Statement, Ignition interlock Insurance Certification.
    For Revoked Drivers: Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement, Special Review Awareness, Ignition Interlock Insurance Certification.
  2. Pass the DWI knowledge test and pay a $680 reinstatement fee and apply for a new Class D driver's license. Then sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement. Other forms needed vary by offender. Forms include:
  3. Sign (if required) and notarize the Special Review Awareness form
  4. Drop-off or mail paperwork to: Driver and Vehicle Services, Ignition
    Interlock Unity, 445 Minnesota St. Ste. 177, St. Paul, MN 55101. You may
    also fax paperwork to (651) 797-1299 or email it to dvs.iii@state.mn.us.
  5. Call Intoxalock at 888-655-4821 to schedule installation of an ignition
    interlock device with camera - after successfully submitting all
    appIication materials, DVS will send a letter authorizing the installation

Use your device for the duration of your obligation to the state of Minnesota. Intoxalock will immediately handle all reporting to your Minnesota state monitoring authority.

*Receive the cost of installation up to $100 via rebate after mailing in proof of installation. Cost of installation varies by state and service center. Rebate amount will be added as account credit once approved and has no cash value. 6 month minimum lease required. Available to new customers only. Not applicable to Voluntary leases.