Skip to Content
woman sitting with computer researching offers

Get the #1 Brand in California

A blue tinted image of a satelite view of a city's roads as a map.

Need an Ignition Interlock Installed? 888-655-4821

We Can Help!

By clicking the button, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLCConsumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include Intoxalock,, DUICare and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here.

California Ignition Interlock Device (IID) FAQs

What is an ignition interlock device?

An ignition interlock device (or IID) is basically a breathalyzer that is installed into a vehicle for the purpose of preventing drunk driving. It requires the driver to submit a breath sample before being able to start the car and then requires periodic samples while driving to ensure that no alcohol has been consumed while the vehicle is in operation. In California, IID's are required by DUI offenders in order to regain their license after receiving a suspension.

How do I know if I need one?

California offenders can get two different types of suspensions:

DMV Required IID - This is when you are required to report to the DMV and show that you have installed an IID in your vehicle.

Court Ordered IID - This is when you are required to report to the court and show that you have installed an IID in your vehicle.

How much will my offense cost?

Depending on the type of offense, the cost to satisfy the obligation to the state of California can vary greatly.

Ignition interlock device costs – This is the more affordable aspect of the DUI process, with a device costing as little as $2.15 a day. Call to get the best available prices and special offers in California.

Other DWI costs – The average cost for a DUI in California can range anywhere from $5,000 to $10,000 or even more after fines, attorney fees, DUI classes, and license reinstatement. There is also an additional cost of an estimated $40,000 of increased auto insurance premiums over the next 13 years following the DUI offense.

What steps do I need to take?

  1. Get Started - Call us at 888-655-4821 to help you get started with the process.
  2. Let Us Handle the Paperwork - Send in your court order or we will help you obtain your MAU (mandatory actions unit) form.
  3. Install Your Device - Once you have been approved, schedule an install of your ignition interlock device.
  4. Get Your License - Bring your certificate of installation to the DMV to obtain your temporary license.
  5. Get Back on the Road - Use your device for the duration of your obligation to the state of California. Intoxalock will immediately handle all reporting to your California state monitoring authority.

*Receive the cost of installation up to $100 via rebate after mailing in proof of installation. Cost of installation varies by state and service center. Rebate amount will be added as account credit once approved and has no cash value. 6 month minimum lease required. Available to new customers only. Not applicable to Voluntary leases.