Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
In New York, anyone convicted of a DWI as of 2009 has to install an ignition interlock device (IID). If they want to regain any driving privileges, an interlock device NY approves is required as well. This guide will give you a thorough overview of getting an ignition interlock device, or IID, in New York state.
By clicking the button above, you consent to Intoxalock and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Intoxalock has more locations than any other provider, and you can find a nearby location for an interlock device NY .
NY DWI laws are strict, and there are levels of alcohol-related offenses in New York state. A driver can be charged with driving while intoxicated, or DWI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is equal to or more than .08 percent. If their BAC is more than .18 percent, they’ll be charged with aggravated DWI.
Those with a BAC under .08 may not get away without penalty either. Anyone with a BAC between .05 and .07 risks being charged with driving while ability impaired by alcohol (DWAI). When Leandra’s Law was passed in 2009, it mandated that anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated must install an ignition interlock device (IID) in any car they operate as well. CDL license holders are not eligible to receive a conditional CDL license, as only regular licenses are approved. Anyone who wishes to get a conditional license is required to get an ignition interlock NY approves as well.
NY DWI laws have tiered penalties for DWI offenders in New York, depending on their level of impairment and prior offenses.
Ignition interlock device laws in NY state that an interlock device New York approves must be installed by anyone wanting to apply for a conditional license.
Refusing to take a sobriety test or blood alcohol test does not really help drivers, as there are still penalties for doing so. If you fail or refuse to complete a chemical test in NY, you risk the following penalties.
NY DWI laws allow offenders, and even some repeat offenders, to be eligible for a conditional license in New York. If you have your license suspended due to a drug or alcohol-related offense, complete the following to qualify for a conditional license:
A conditional license does not give drivers full license privileges, however. Typically, locations one can drive to are limited to the following:
Ignition interlock devices are required in many cases of DWI, to help prevent the driver from offending again.
An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
The devices are small and easy to use, and there are different types available depending on state requirements and personal preference. Intoxalock has more locations than any other provider, so you can easily find a location near you. New York drivers need to return 30 days after installation for calibration, and every 60 days thereafter.
Offenders can get a device installed in a car they don’t own, but they will need to bring a notarized affidavit from the owner.
Typically, they are required for the full time of the suspension period, and perhaps after. The court will determine how long you need to use an IID. Generally, the suspension period for a first offense is six months to a year. Subsequent offenses require longer suspension periods.
New York approves of the eLERT, eLERT 24, and Home eLERT for DWI offenses. The device includes a camera for photo verification and other features listed below.
Ignition interlock devices are leased and not purchased outright. This is for ease of monitoring and also because the devices cost thousands of dollars if purchased outright. In New York, the price to lease a device is between $2.50 and $3.50 a day.
Intoxalock also offers a device protection plan for an additional $10 a month. This will protect you if your device is damaged or stolen. If paying for a device is a hardship, the court can determine if a driver is eligible for financial assistance. This is determined by the court on a case-by-case basis.
With a team dedicated to finding experienced DWI attorneys in New York, Intoxalock works to make your ignition interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn about our attorney partners, and gain the support you need to find the best DWI attorney near you.
Help a Friend
State of New York Website
Recommended Reading in New York