Talk to State Specialist
New Jersey allows drivers to regain some driving privileges with installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). In New Jersey interlock devices need to be installed by an approved provider and the driver is responsible for the cost of renting the device. This guide will explain all the criteria you need to meet to qualify.
We make it easy to find ignition interlock installation locations near you. Can't make it to our local service center? Let us come to you with mobile installation offered in select states. Call today to schedule your installation fast and at your convenience.
New Jersey updated their DWI policy in December 2019, and now any convicted driver or driver who refuses to submit to a test will have to get a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installed to regain driving privileges. Anyone operating a motor vehicle or boat with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent is considered in violation.
This is in conjunction with having their license revoked, financial penalties, and other requirements the court may mandate. New Jersey drivers must show proof of BAIID installation before they can be granted a temporary or hardship license.
New Jersey has tiered financial penalties for DWI offenders, along with community service requirements. Here are the penalties for DWI:
Refusal to take a test also results in additional penalties, in some cases heavier penalties than a DWI might have:
A temporary restricted license allows drivers to use their vehicle to get to and from work, medical appointments, treatment, school, and other meetings required by the court. In order to be eligible for a temporary restricted license if you meet the following criteria:
A BAIID is intended to prevent drivers from starting their car if they have had alcohol. A breath alcohol ignition interlock device, or BAIID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
The re-tests prevent someone from having a friend take the test for them before driving off. All failures are reported to the certifying body or state, and tampering with the device is punished harshly.
Drivers can install an ignition interlock device in a vehicle they don’t own, but must provide the owner's name at their installation appointment.
Drivers are required to cover the cost of their BAIID. Ignition interlock devices are not sold, they are leased. Intoxalock devices cost between $2.50-$3.50 a day to lease, depending on your monitoring needs. You can also purchase a separate device protection plan for $10 a month. There are some financial assistance programs for drivers who are considered indigent or unable to pay. Customers must show proof of receiving governmental assistance.
Drivers can easily manage your payments online, via the app, or via check.
Intoxalock has more locations than any other provider. You can search for a location near you online, or talk to a state specialist to find a convenient location. Once installed, you will need to return to the location to have the device calibrated every 60 days after installation, so it’s important to pick one that is convenient for you.
An attorney can help represent your best interests in court, and help you make sure you complete requirements on time. Intoxalock partners with several attorneys who can ensure your rights are protected.
Help a Friend
State of New Jersey Website