Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Nevada is a state well-known for tourism, and for providing a relaxing atmosphere to any visitors. While that relaxation often involves drinking, Nevada is not relaxed when it comes to DUI law. There are a variety of penalties for drunk driving, and they increase if there are multiple offenses.
By clicking the button above, you consent to Intoxalock and its affiliates calling and texting at the telephone number provided to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
When you make your installation appointment, the service technicians will also show you how the device works. Once installed, they will also provide a certification of installation you can share with the DMV in order to obtain an IID license (as long as you meet other criteria).
The changes the bill initiated took effect that day as well. Visit the Intoxalock blog to get the full details.
Nevada allows some DUI offenders to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device (IID) approved by the state. Ignition interlock devices prevent offenders from starting their car without first taking a breath alcohol content (BrAC) test. If they do not pass, they will be unable to start their vehicle. The device may also request retests randomly throughout any trip to ensure continuous sobriety.
Nevada has a lot of penalties for DUI, and they include financial and administrative penalties, along with criminal penalties. The state also recently updated its interlock policy as of June 2021, and the following applies to all offenses from that date forward.
There are still consequences for offenders who refuse the DUI test. There are still penalties in place, including a license suspension of one year for first offenders, and three years for repeat offenders. If there are previous offenses on your record, other penalties may apply. In Nevada, ignition interlocks are highly recommended but it is up to the judge’s discretion to order one. A judge in Nevada is not required to sentence an offender to an IID.
Nevada’s IID policy requires the judge to review prior offenses and take them into account when sentencing. Offenders who meet the criteria may qualify for a restricted license, which includes:
It is up to the judge to determine if an IID is required. Some offenders may not qualify for an IID license, depending on their previous offenses and the judge’s discretion.
The court will determine what type of ignition interlock device is required. Intoxalock is approved in Nevada, and our devices meet all state criteria.
An interlock device is also called a car breathalyzer. The device:
This is all determined by the judge, as it is at the judge’s discretion that an IID is required. They will also determine how long it must be installed.
With more locations than any other provider, it will be easy to find a convenient installation center near you. Intoxalock has more than 4,500 locations nationwide, and they’re all fully stocked.
In Nevada, offenders must pay for the cost of their ignition interlock device. The devices are leased, not purchased outright. The typical cost is around $2.50 to $3.50 per day. Intoxalock has flexible payment options.
Why choose Intoxalock Nevada?
*Intoxalock will cover up to $80 of your installation after mail-in rebate. A 6-month minimum lease is required to apply for this offer, and it only applies to Nevada customers. This cannot be combined with any other offer. This deal is not applicable to voluntary leases.
An attorney can help guide you through the DUI court process. They will represent your interests in court. If you are having trouble finding an attorney, we partner with several in the state who may be able to help.