Intoxalock menu
Call Intoxalock 24/7 Call us 24/7!
(888) 283-5899
Hablamos español
Call Intoxalock 24/7
Nebraska ignition interlock

Ignition interlock 
device information:

The customer service department was very helpful and friendly.

- Tim, Nebraska Intoxalock driver

Nebraska ignition interlock device laws & requirements

Interlocks approved in Nebraska” longdesc=“Interlocks approved in the State of Nebraska” style=
Approved by the
State of Nebraska:

What to do after getting a DUI can be confusing. Intoxalock is here to help. We have over 20 years of experience helping people just like you install an ignition interlock in Nebraska and get back on the road.

Don’t let the thought of installing a car breathalyzer intimidate you. Our state specialists will help you find a local service center, schedule an installation near your home, answer all of your ignition interlock questions and walk you through the process of regaining your license as quickly as possible. 

Intoxalock ignition interlock benefits:

  • FREE installation on leases six months or longer*
  • Largest service center network in Nebraska
  • Customer approval rating of 4-1/2 out of 5 stars
  • 24/7 customer service support
  • Affordable ignition interlock device pricing
  • Over 1,800 convenient locations nationwide
  • The fastest way to get back on the road legally
State Laws

Additional drunk driving resources:

State of Nebraska ignition interlock & drunk driving laws:

First Conviction DUI

If you were convicted of a DUI in Nebraska your license will be revoked. However, you will be able to regain your driving privileges with the installation of Intoxalock ignition interlock.

In order to regain your license you must:

  • Serve a minimum of seven days in jail
  • Serve a six month license revocation
  • Pay a $500 fine
  • The DMV requires the person to apply for an ignition interlock; apply online here
Top

Second Conviction DUI

If you were convicted of a second offense DUI in Nebraska, your license will be revoked for one year. However, you will be able to regain your driving privileges with the installation of Intoxalock ignition interlock.

In order to regain your license you must:

  • Serve a minimum of 30 days in jail
  • Serve a one year license revocation
  • Pay a $500 fine
  • The DMV requires the person to apply for an ignition interlock; apply online here
Top

Third & Subsequent Conviction DUI

If you were convicted of a third DUI offense, your license will be revoked for 15 years. However, you may be able to regain your driving privileges with the installation of Intoxalock ignition interlock.

In order to regain your license you must:

  • Serve a minimum of 90 days in jail
  • Serve a 15 year license revocation
  • Pay a $1,000 fine
  • If granted probation the DMV may order the person to apply for an ignition interlock after 45 days; apply online here
Top

High BAC DUI

If you have been convicted of a DUI and your breath alcohol content (BAC) was 0.15 or greater you will be required to install an Intoxalock ignition interlock. You will need to complete the requirements for the corresponding offense as listed above. The jail and suspension times will vary as follows:

  • First Offense – You will serve a minimum of seven days in jail, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year and the court requires you to apply for an ignition interlock
  • Second Offense – You will serve a minimum of 90 days in jail, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year and if granted probation the court may order you to apply for an ignition interlock after 45 days
  • Third & Subsequent Offense – You will serve a minimum of 180 days in jail, your driver’s license will be revoked for 15 years and if granted probation the court may order you to apply for an ignition interlock after 45 days
Top

Administrative License Revocation Law (ALR)

The Administrative License Revocation Law (ALR) allows a law enforcement officer to confiscate the license of a drinking driver on the spot when certain conditions are met. The ALR is applied administratively by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The penalties for the ALR are separate and distinct from any penalties assigned by the court for conviction of drunk driving exceeding 0.08 blood alcohol concentration level or a conviction of diving under the influence.

The procedure for ALR:

  • The police officer pulls over the suspected drunken driver. If the driver acts drunk or performs poorly on field sobriety tests, the officer arrests the motorist for driving while under the influence
  • The driver is asked to take breath, blood or urine test
  • If the driver fails or refused the test, the officer immediately impounds the license and tells the driver that the license will be revoked in 15 days
  • The officer provides the driver with a 15 day driving permit and information regarding administrative hearing and how to apply for an ignition interlock permit
  • If the driver refused the test, the licensee is automatically revoked for one year
  • If the driver fails the test, the license is revoked for 180 days for a first offense. Second offense is a one year revocation
  • The driver may request a hearing and the DMV schedules one within 20 days of the receipt of the request
  • At the hearing, the driver may only present evidence that he or she did not fail or refuse to take the test
    - If the Director of the DMV determines the driver has failed or refused to take the test, the license is revoked for 90 days or one year
    - If the Director of the DMV determines the driver has failed or refused to take the test, the revocation is dismissed and the license returned
  • If the driver disputes the decision by the director of DMV, an appeal can be filed with the district court
Top

Ignition Interlock Restricted Permit

As of January 1, 2012, Nebraska has new DUI laws that allow offenders to waive their right to an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing and apply for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) instead.

The following must be completed in order to receive your IIP:

To be eligible for the permit, the driver must be a Nebraska resident, must be at least 18 years old and have been issued a license (Provisional Operator's Permit holders are not eligible for the Ignition Interlock Permit). To receive a letter authorizing the issuance of the appropriate driving document, the driver must submit the following to the Department of Motor Vehicles in Lincoln:

  • Call the Department of Motor Vehicles at (402) 471-3985 to verify eligibility for the Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP)
  • Ignition Interlock Permit Application 2012 for arrest dates on 01/01/2012 or after
  • Current certificate of installation showing an approved ignition interlock device has been installed for each vehicle driver will be operating (device cannot be installed on a Commercial Motor Vehicle)
  • Surrender current driver license
  • Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other withdrawal actions on the driving record

Once the IIP has been authorized - you can go to any licensing station in Nebraska to get the IIP issued. Be prepared to furnish the examiner with proof of birth date and identity and two forms of proof of residence. Take the issuance certificate you get from the examiner to the County Treasurer, pay the $47.50 fee and have the permit issued.

Top

*FREE installation after rebate offer is valid up to $100. Customer must pay their installation location at the time of install and a rebate will be credited to their account. Nebraska customers only. Not valid on voluntary leases. Cannot be combined with other offers.

 

This information is provided as a guideline only. Each case will vary.

Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go