Talk to State Specialist
DEVICES AVAILABLE - If you need to install a device to meet your state requirements, we can help. Contact us today to schedule an installation appointment.
Kansas has both administrative and criminal penalties for DUI offenders. The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in Kansas is .08 percent, and offenders driving while at or above that BAC risk a DUI conviction. They may be required to pay fines, their license will be revoked, and they may be ordered to attend treatment. Some offenders may be able to regain their driving privileges if they install an ignition interlock device. This guide will share how the IID process works in Kansas.
By clicking the button below, you consent to Consumer Safety Technology, LLC and its affiliate Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC calling and texting at the telephone number provided, without regard to the time of day, to encourage the purchase or lease of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial voice and/or pre-recorded means. Consent is not a condition of purchase. For California residents, click here. Consumer Safety Technology, LLC companies include US Court Assessments formerly New Directions, Intoxalock, Restorify, DUI.org, DUICareX
Intoxalock has more installation locations than any other provider. Service center technicians will be able to show you how the device works. You will need to return to the location every 30 days for device calibration, so choose one close by and convenient. Find the perfect Kansas Intoxalock location for you.
Per KS ignition interlock law, offenders must install an IID from a provider the state approves. Intoxalock is an approved provider in Kansas. In order to regain driving privileges, offenders will have to show proof of installation.
In Kansas, there are a variety of penalties for DUI offenders. The penalties may increase if there are prior offenses on record, or if a minor was present. In some cases, a very high BAC may also be a factor in penalizing the offender.
Drivers who are suspected of DUI have the right to refuse a blood, urine, or breath test. However, this does not protect them from potential consequences. If you refuse a test, your driver’s license can be suspended for up to one year.
Kansas allows qualified offenders to receive a restricted driver’s license if they install an ignition interlock. They must also meet these additional criteria.
Repeat offenders are not eligible for the Restricted Driving Privilege option, but in some cases, they may apply for a Limited Driving Privilege. Sometimes this is referred to as a hardship license. There is no option for a limited commercial driver’s license. To qualify, offenders must either submit an application to the Department of Revenue or petition the court.
Offenders who qualify can submit an application to the Department of Revenue, and they also need to:
Other things the offender must do to qualify, include:
If the court approves the petition, the offender will receive an Order Granting Limited Driving Privilege.
KS ignition interlock law requires IID installation for many DUI penalties, and in some situations requires the ignition interlock to be equipped with a camera as well. The court or statute will dictate what type of IID is required.
An ignition interlock device KS, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle which:
This is determined by statute, and the court may require it for longer than initially planned. Typically, the IID must be used during the entire limited driving privilege period.
Intoxalock has many locations in Kansas, so it should be easy for you to find a shop near you to have your device installed. The Kansas Department of Transportation must approve the device that is installed, and they receive all reports of passes and failures for offenders with devices installed.
Kansas offenders are responsible for the cost of their own ignition interlock device. Typically, the devices are leased as opposed to purchased outright. The device costs approximately $2.50 to $3.50 per day to lease.
Why choose Intoxalock Kansas?
*Receive your first month free after the mail-in rebate. A 6-month minimum lease is required. This offer is only valid for Kansas customers and cannot be combined with any other offer. This is not applicable to voluntary leases.
It can be daunting to face court proceedings for a DWI. An attorney can guide you and can represent your best interests in a DWI case. Intoxalock partners with many in your area who can help.