If you’ve recently been arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Washington, you may be confused and nervous about the DUI process. States have their own laws for DUI penalties.
We are here to walk you through Washington’s guidelines and detail how Intoxalock’s ignition interlock device may help you get safely back on the road.
After the Arrest
In Washington, it’s illegal to operate a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You can be convicted of a DUI if driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. Additionally, a conviction can occur if a person is operating a vehicle with a concentration of five nanograms or more of THC per milliliter of blood.
If convicted of a DUI, you may face a criminal penalty handed down from a court. It is also possible that the Washington Department of Licensing will issue their own penalties after a court conviction. The number of DUIs you’ve been convicted of in the past and the circumstances of your recent DUI arrest can influence the severity of your penalties.
When arrested for a DUI, you are given notice of a license suspension for a minimum of 90 days up to a two year period. The suspension will begin 60 days after your DUI arrest. You only have seven days following your arrest date to request a hearing to review the suspension.
To request the hearing you will need to fill out a request form online, which is called a HRNG-525-001 document. Requesting a hearing will require a $375 fee, or you can fill out an Application for DUI Indigent Waiver if your income falls below the Washington poverty level.
Penalties & Requirements
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.15 percent or under, you could face a combination of these penalties:
- A driver’s license suspension for 90 days
- A period of 1 day up to 364 days in jail
- Fines ranging from $940 up to $5,000
If your BAC was higher than 0.15 percent, you could face a combination of these penalties:
- A driver’s license suspension of one year
- A suspension of two years if you refused to take a chemical test
- A period of 2 days up to 364 days in jail
- Fines ranging from $1,195 up to $5,000
You may also be required to attend treatment or victim impact programs.
The Washington Department of Licensing will be notified of your conviction. License suspension will likely begin 45 days after the court notifies the DOL. However, if your license was previously suspended following arrest for the same DUI, that time will be credited to you and work towards completing your overall suspension requirement.
If you are required to install an ignition interlock device in Washington, complete the Washington IID Application Form to begin the State of Washington ignition interlock installation process.
How Intoxalock Can Help
All drivers convicted of a DUI must install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. To get back on the road while your license is suspended or revoked, you have to apply for an ignition interlock driver’s license.
The length of time you must have an IID depends on if you’ve had previous DUI convictions:
- First offense DUI — one year with ignition interlock device.
- Second DUI offense — at least five years with ignition interlock device.
- Third and subsequent offenses — at least 10 years with ignition interlock device.
Here are the steps to follow after getting a DUI in Washington:
- Fill out a Restricted Driver License Application (Form DR-500-001).
- Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
- Intoxalock will send proof of the device to the Washington DOL.
- Provide an insurance form.
- Pay the $100 application fee.
- Submit your documents to the address on the form.
Intoxalock has nearly 50 service center locations throughout the state of Washington. Our customer service representatives work with you to find a location closest to you and help you understand your ignition interlock requirements. They will make sure your devices are installed and that your process is seamless.
To get started with an ignition interlock device, complete the Washington IID Application Form or call an Intoxalock state specialist for Washington at (833) 623-0200.