How do I get an Ignition Interlock Device installed in Florida?
What to do after a DUI charge can be confusing. Intoxalock is here to help. This article outlines the steps Florida residents need to take and the information you should have ready to provide when you schedule your Intoxalock ignition interlock device installation.
Here are commonly asked questions:
What happens if I don’t install an interlock device?
Depending on your violation you may receive a penalty of up to $5,000 and 5 years in jail, or both.
Do I need to have my state approval before scheduling my install?
You do not need to have Florida state approval to schedule your ignition interlock device installation.
If you are required to get a Home Monitoring Unit (HMU) you must provide a court order to our compliance team prior to installation.
When will my ignition interlock device start counting towards my required time?
For DMV ordered requirements, your IID fulfillment period will begin as soon as you are issued your P or valid license ordered by/from the DMV. Some court orders provide for diversion and/or court programs where your time starts once your ignition interlock device is installed.
What information do I need to provide to schedule my Intoxalock installation?
You will need to provide your basic identifying information along with a photo ID – the same information that appears on your Florida driver’s license - including your legal name, your address, and your driver’s license number.
You will also provide the information about the vehicle(s) make, model, and year that you are having your device(s) installed on.
How do I find an Intoxalock location in Florida near me?
There are more than 230 locations in Florida. Search for locations near you at https://www.intoxalock.com/locations/fl
Additionally, if you are looking for a mobile installation or have an inquiry about same day installation options, you can call an Intoxalock State Specialist for more information at (833) 623-0200.
What if I can’t be at my installation in person?
If you cannot be present at the time of the installation, you must send a copy of your Driver’s License to our compliance team prior to your installation appointment.
If you have a court order, no reporting will occur until a copy of the court order is sent to us.
Have more questions for our Florida state specialists? Call (833) 623-0200.