Home » blog

Understanding DWI Penalties in Minnesota

The time following an arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI) can be stressful. We understand that it can be an emotional and confusing process, which is why we decided to create this easy-to-follow guide on Minnesota DWI penalties.

So, let’s walk through what happens in the DWI process if you’re a resident of Minnesota.

Minnesota DWI Laws

The legal blood alcohol concentration limit in Minnesota is .08. If you are pulled over and have a prohibited blood alcohol concentration (a BAC above .08), you will be arrested for driving while intoxicated.

Your license will be revoked or canceled, and you will face other penalties depending on prior DWI offenses and the level of your BAC. You might also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID).

If you are required to install an ignition interlock device in Minnesota, complete the Minnesota IID Application Form to begin the State of Minnesota ignition interlock process.

Here are the penalties broken down by offense:

First offense:

  • Driver’s license revoked
  • May regain full driving privileges by installing an IID and completing the following steps:
    • Pass DWI knowledge test
    • Pay $680 reinstatement fee (Must submit payment receipt)
    • Apply for new Class D driver’s license and pay application fee (Must submit receipt)
    • Sign and date Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement
    • Submit a Certificate of Insurance for the vehicles to be equipped with an IID
    • Install IID and provide application paperwork to Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
    • Await new restricted driver's license once DVS approves the application

Second offense within 10 years of a first offense:

  • Driver’s license revoked for one to two years.
  • May regain restricted driving privileges by installing an IID and completing the following steps:
    • Pass DWI knowledge test
    • Pay $680 reinstatement fee (and submit receipt of payment)
    • Apply for new Class D driver’s license and pay application fee (and submit receipt)
    • Sign and date Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement
    • Submit a Certificate of Insurance for the vehicles to be equipped with an IID
    • If required, sign and notarize the Special Review Awareness Form
    • Install IID and provide application paperwork to Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
    • Await new restricted driver’s license once DVS approves the application.

Third and subsequent offenses within 10 year period, or four or more alcohol-related offenses:

  • Driver’s license canceled as “inimical to public safety,” which is a label to describe someone who is unable to drive their vehicle without presenting a grave danger to others.
  • May regain limited or restricted driving privileges by installing an IID and completing the following steps:
    • Enroll in a treatment program as recommended by a chemical use evaluation. Treatment provider or assessor must submit enrollment documents directly to DVS.
    •  Pass DWI knowledge test
    • Pay $680 reinstatement fee (Must submit payment receipt)
    • Apply for new Class D driver’s license and pay application fee (Must submit receipt)
    • Sign and date Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement
    • Sign and date the Application for Ignition Interlock Limited License
    • Submit a Certificate of Insurance for the vehicles to be equipped with an IID
    • Sign and notarize a Last Use Statement
    • Install IID and provide application paperwork to Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS)
  • In the case of a third offense and subsequent offense, you must drive a vehicle with an IID and have no detection of alcohol or drugs for:
    • Three years for a third offense (one year limited license, two years restricted license)
    • Four years for a fourth offense (one year limited license, three years restricted license)
    • Six years for a fifth offense (one year limited license, five years restricted license)

What is a limited license?

A limited license is a paper license issued while driving privileges are revoked, allowing you to drive to work, school and abstinence-based support programs.

What is a restricted license?

A restricted license allows a person to drive only in vehicles equipped with an IID and properly registered as such. 

IID Calibrations

Minnesota requires that all ignition interlock devices be calibrated every 30-60 days. The calibration appointment consists of having your device calibrated, ensuring that it is operating accurately and consistently.

Intoxalock auto-calibrations

Intoxalock offers auto-calibrations to its customers in the state of Minnesota. When your current device is due for calibration, the LED screen will display a message alerting you it is time to exchange devices. You will need to visit your service center during the allotted calibration period and a technician will work quickly to get the device calibrated.

You may want to call your service center before coming in for your calibration so that they can expect you and get you back on the road as quickly as possible.

Installing Your Ignition Interlock Device

Intoxalock has over 85 certified service center locations throughout Minnesota. 

Our customer service representatives work with you to find a location closest to you and help you understand your ignition interlock requirements. If you are ordered by the court to install an ignition interlock, you must install the device to regain your driving privileges.

You cannot “wait out” your requirement to have your license reinstated according to State law. For questions about installing a device or understanding Minnesota ignition interlock requirements, please call (844) 283-6148 so one of our state experts can assist you.

 


Category: Legislation

Read more posts by Intoxalock
Need an ignition interlock installed?
We can help.
    Solicitud de contacto en Español
*
*
*
*