Call us 24/7!
(888) 283-5899
Hablamos español
En Español

New Jersey ignition interlock

Ignition interlock 
product information:

Is the best device ever made. Makes you think & understand the importance of life. Also ensures I am sober & make the right choice. This device saves lives!

- Melanie Ann, Intoxalock driver

Read more reviews

Installation Locations:

New Jersey ignition interlock requirements

What to do after getting a DUI can be confusing. Intoxalock is here to help. We have over 20 years of experience helping people just like you install an ignition interlock in New Jersey and get back on the road.

Don’t let the thought of installing a car breathalyzer intimidate you. Our state specialists will help you find a local service center, schedule an installation near your home, answer all of your ignition interlock questions and walk you through the process of regaining your license as quickly as possible. 

Intoxalock ignition interlock benefits:

  • 24/7 customer service support
  • Affordable pricing
  • Over 1,300 convenient locations nationwide
  • The fastest way to get back on the road legally

Additional resources:

New Jersey ignition interlock requirements:

First Offense

If you were convicted of a first offense DUI in New Jersey, your license will be suspended depending on your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC). If your BrAC was greater than 0.08%, but less than 0.10%, your license will be suspended for three months. If your BrAC was greater than 0.10%, your license will be suspended for seven months to one year. Upon the judge’s discretion, you may be required to install an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device with a BAC at 0.08% or higher.

To obtain your license you must complete the following:

  • Pay a $250-$500 fine
  • Pay a $230 program fee and serve 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Pay $100 to a drunk driving fund & $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Pay $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Pay $1,000/year surcharge for three years
  • Serve any applicable prison time, up to 30 days
  • Complete an alcohol screening and evaluation program

If your BAC was greater than 0.15% you will be required to complete the above in addition to installing an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device (IID) during license suspension and for six months to one year following restoration.

Top

Second Offense

If you were convicted of a second offense DUI in New Jersey within ten years, your license will be suspended for two years. However, you may still regain driving privileges with the installation of an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device.

In order to regain your license you must:

  • Pay a $500-$1,000 fine
  • Complete 30 days of community service
  • Pay a $280 program fee and serve 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Pay $100 to a drunk driving fund & $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Pay $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Pay $1,000/year surcharge for three years
  • Serve any applicable prison time, 48 hours to 90 days possible
  • Complete an alcohol screening and evaluation program
  • Install an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device during license suspension and for one to three years following restoration
Top

Third Offense

If you were convicted of a third DUI offense within ten years of your second offense period in New Jersey, or have four or more alcohol offenses on record, your license will be suspended for ten years. However, you may still regain driving privileges with the installation of an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device.

In order to regain your license, you must:

  • Pay a $1,000 fine
  • Complete up to 90 days of community service
  • Pay a $280 program fee and serve 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Pay $100 to a drunk driving fund and $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Pay $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Pay $1,500/year surcharge for three years
  • Serve any applicable prison time,180 days possible
  • Complete an alcohol screening and evaluation program
  • Install an Intoxalock Legacy ignition interlock device during license suspension and for one to three years following restoration
Top

Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP)

Any person convicted of an alcohol related traffic offense in New Jersey or while driving in another state, but holding a New Jersey driver’s license, must participate in a program at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) as part of the Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP). Failure to comply with satisfactory participation will result in further license suspension and possible jail time.

New Jersey has an IDRC in each county for first and third-time offenders and three regional centers for second-time offenders. In addition to the program fee's for IDP by offenses listed above, other related charges may include a $100 attendance fee and a $100 license restoration fee.

More information on the New Jersey IDP program can be found here.

Top

*FREE installation after rebate offer is valid up to $100. Depending on vehicle type, installation may exceed $100. Customer must pay their installation location at the time of install and a rebate will be credited to their account.



This information is provided as a guideline only. Each case will vary.

Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go
Enter zip code for results in your area
Go